A computer with no HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default A computer with no HDD

My friend was telling me about NVram (At least thats what I think he called it) and using it on our OC rig. He talked about using it in place of a hard drive, so there would be no moving parts. So everything could be access almost instantaneously. Either via Firewire or USB or the like. could someone enlighten me on this subject? Is there something I am misunderstanding?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I thought NVRam was for video cards?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Maybe i was wrong, or maybe it is a very powerful RAM good for storing lots of things. Like I said, I may have misunderstood. Any and all answers will be greatly appreciated.
Him is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah, the only way to not have a harddrive is to have a PC with a bootstrap (which boots from the network)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^which in turn still uses a h/d right?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Yeah, the only way to not have a harddrive is to have a PC with a bootstrap (which boots from the network)
Or one that boots from flash memory card,or floppy, or cdrom, or any other way an OS can be loaded into RAM.

Not hard to do, and with a decent amount of RAM you can do quite a bit without a hard drive in the system.
horndude is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah that's what I'm talking about, lots of flash memory with an OS loaded to it. That way there is no moving parts, no delay in read/write, everything is super fast. Balls out performance. But I'm not talking RAM, because when power is pulled from that it dumps everything. Flash memory type deals. Someone know where I can find an article or soemthing that talks about this idea? It's a swell one, and I would like to bring it to fruition on my machine.
Him is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Its already been done.Linux kernel even has a support option for the cramFS(cram filesystem)

http://www.tldp.com has all kinds of how-to articles, there's a few in there about the boot sequence and driveless systems

one thing about flash memory though, it has a short lifespan, and keeping the filesystem balanced and even is an issue in order to maximize the life of the flash memory you cant do everything like you normallly would

im currently working on a similar idea, boot from floppy into RAM, then use network storage to play mp3's, low parts count, and just mobo/cpu/floppy and power supply basically
horndude is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I got the idea from my buddy, Polymorphic, because we are throwing this idea around. I dont know if you have run into him, he hangs alot in the Linux forum, but he is into writing alot of Linux stuff. It's just an idea, but it would be cool. Is there another technology like flash memory but with a longer lifespan? One that would be great for such an idea?
Him is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Well if you used a USB pendrive and a system with lots of RAM you could just make a filesystem in a RAM disk,and load the OS into RAM from the USB pendrive, that way the RAM takes all the wear.Its a perfectly good way of doing it, and pendrives are more than big enough, they just arent good for lots of data read/write cycles.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.