computer that im getting yay or nay - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2004, 09:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,179
Send a message via AIM to Emily
Default

I got a similar package from Compaq for $900, except it didn't have a monitor. It had a P4 instead of an AMD, and it had a DVD-RW and a CD-RW. I haven't had any problems with it yet, but I have to say I wish I had built my own instead...
__________________

__________________
www.upstark.com
Emily is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 10:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

yay
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 10:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 69
Default

looks like a good computer to me
CableModem is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 10:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default

Definatly Yay! I have the same exact thing as you in every feature except I have an AMD 3200 instead and it's a Cyberpower which I think is alot better than Compaq. Lol, great comp though.
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 05-19-2004, 12:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

yayish nay.....

get either the athlon 3200 or 3000

and use the money you save to upgrade your HD to 160

then you can partition like 40 gigs for linux......cause getting an athlon64 without linux is like buying a nice car without good tires.

and you should plan on getting another 512.

Buuuut....if this is a package deal that u cant change, then i would definetly say yay
oblivion is offline  
Old 05-19-2004, 07:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a 64-bit OS, like Linux, or XP 64-bit edition........ or just wait for "longhorn" to come out as it WILL ONLY run on a 64-bit processor.... and you'll be ahead
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.