cdrom not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2005, 06:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default cdrom not working

i was playing a game, and my computer rebooted while playing it, so i started playing again, and once again it rebooted. but i am now left with my cdrom constantly going. I cannot open it up, although i managed to remove the cd from it that the game was on. The light on the cdrom is constantly flashing, and I am unable to open it. Any ideas on what to do? The few occasions that it will open, if I place a cd in, it the light constantly flashes, but it can't read the cd.

antirj is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Check the cables. make sure there's no pieces of the disc inside

Reboot a couple of times and leave your computer off for a minute.

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330

scan for viruses,could be cdrom itself
Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229

first check the cables, make sure they are all snug and seccurue
then you may consider getting a cdrom cleaner... i've seen them in the store, try someplace like or compusa someplaces like that
you may also want to find a diagnostics tool, to check the hardware,
update the drivers... basically that's about all you can do before replaceing the cdrom...

good luck, post any questions.

<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 06:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592

consider getting a cdrom cleaner
Don't waste the money, unless your talking about a CDRW or DVDRW Drive. Its not worth it to go out and get a cleaning kit. There going to run you anywhere from $10-$20 bucks on. It would be easier to pick up a new CD-ROM Drive and not have to deal with anymore problems. I bought a brand new Lite-On 52x CDRom Drive for $19 the other day.
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.