cd/rw problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2003, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default cd/rw problems

I loaded a used cd/rw into my tower today and hooked on the same ide cable as the cdrom and proceeded to hookup its power supplyas well. The installation seemed to go fairly easily. since i didn't have the original cd installation drivers i just let xp and its cdrom install it. i have nero 5.5 installed as well and when i right click on a downloaded song i get "no device detected" as well when i try to copy a cd it get errors and the burn cannot even start..

Any suggestions as i kave seen this burner working in the other pc it came out of.
__________________

mobo is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

intel celeron 1100 mhz
256 sdram
A open 16/10/32 cd/rw model crw1632
lg 52x cdrom

Im set the burner as slave because the cdrom was set as master.

I have tried a cdin the cd/rw and it did infact start and run as well as have sound. This may strange but i didn't connect what i thought was the plug for audio.
__________________

mobo is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

also this is a dual boot 98 and xp and i am using xp now as the main system.
mobo is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

the driver on the site was a dos driver and i think that may be above what i can do alone.
mobo is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

see this site.
mobo is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 10:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

i have switched the master / slave around to se if that would make a diff but no.
mobo is offline  
Old 06-18-2003, 07:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

Here is a link to my mobo. I seem to have only one available plug on it as thr hard drive is using the other. Can i set up the cdrom and cd/rw on this comp together even if they don't like each other on the same cable?

also in device manager there are no conflicts and both roms are present.
mobo is offline  
Old 06-18-2003, 07:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

In addition i have attached the report from the nero info tool. does this look ok ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pict1283.jpg (9.2 KB, 11 views)
__________________

mobo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.