Can you brighten an old monitor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2004, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Question Can you brighten an old monitor?

Hey, New here.
I have a 19" CRT monitor that is about a 2 years old and it is going dim fast. Even with the brightness/contrast up 100% in the monitors os config, I have to turn the gamma up as far as it will go in today's games and the games are still dim. Is there any internal way to increase the brightness? Maybe a voltage increase or something. Replace a capacitor? I really don't know and I don't want to just tear into my monitor to see. Let me know if there is anything I can do or should I just buy a new one and shotgun this beast?
__________________

number9ine is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 10:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try cleaning out the dust first of all - while it's completely unplugged, as most CRT's can put out 30,000 volts!
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

try rite-clicking on yer desktop. goto properties>settings>advanced n c if u can tweak any settings to adjust the brightness.
__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

If it's that old, then get a new one, you know maybe you would need higher res monitor. I have a 17" sony LCD and it just ROCKZZ
You could get some really good deals on newegg.com
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I just suggest you get a new monitor. Preferably a CRT Flat Screen over an LCD Flat Panel. A great place to find one would be on either of the two websites below.

www.newegg.com
www.tigerdirect.com

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks guys. That's what I was afraid of. I am probably just going to get a new monitor after the holidays. I was holding out in case there was a simple fix but I guess no luck.
number9ine is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 05:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Jeeze, I'd stay away from whatever brand monitor you have now. A 2 year life on a monitor is absurd to me. I've had a 19" Gateway something-or-other CRT for over 5 years and it still runs like new.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to a swap meet and try and get a good 21" monitor
I got one for $380 (aus) which has max refresh rate of 180HZ and max resolution of 2048x1536
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Open it (make sure its unpluged) and re-solder the heater lug on the socket board of the crt (bad heating connection is often the cause of this) if this doesnt work then locate the flyback transformer, it is usualy black and has a red wire coming out of it that attaches to what looks simmilar to a suction cup on the back of the crt (stay away from that it can carry up to 45Kv. once you have found the flyback you will notice there are two potentiometers on it. one is labeled screen and the other focus. turn the screen up just a smidge and the keeping hands clear power it up and see if its brighter. Repeat this untill you have your desired brightness. You will notice the more you turn it, the bluryer it will get. now this is the SAFETY CRUTIAL PART. you need to adjust the focus with the crt on. BE CAREFUL WHEN DOING THIS. BE CAREFUL WHEN DOING THIS. DO NOT TOUCH ANYTHING OTHER THAN THE POTENTIOMETER. THE SHOCK FROM THE INSIDE OF A CRT CAN BE LETHAL!
Once you have the brightness and focus adjusted nicely re asemble the unit, and voala. one restored CRT.
180Mhz is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 08:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

I've done that once in the A+ hardware class. I don't recommend trying it if you don't know which potentiometer to adjust. If you touch the wrong part and aren't grounded you will die. do yourself a favor and replace it with a NEC crt 19" monitor instead of fixing it.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.