Build Me a Machine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2005, 12:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Build Me a Machine

So my buddy told me he wants me to build him a computer. He's not a gamer, and he dosent use really demanding appz. He gave me a $1000 budget. I'm an Intel guy, but I want to give the AMD's a blow. So I was thinking I'd build him an AMD. I want to order it all from www.zipzoomfly.com

I was wondering what people idea's would be for a nice end-user AMD machine. Dont want a bad *** video card either. All ideas are welcome. $1000 budget, will make for some fun.
Thanks all!
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Is the $1,000 for everything including monitor keyboard/mouse etc? Or just the box?
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Just the box. Dedicated $1000 for a badass computer.
Him is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 01:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

amd 64 3500+
dfi lanparty
1 gig dual channel ram (g skill LE/LA's)
2 SATA II hard drives in RAID 0

and then just overclock it for him i guess
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

How about this for a video card. I have no idea what the 7000 chip is capable of, but it has 128MB of ram, and a DVI incase your friend decides to get a high end monitor.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 01:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No offense but the 7000 is a crap card, look for something like a 9550
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 01:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

None taken, just did a quick look and coudln't get a benchmark for it, so I had no idea. Thanks for the enlightenment.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 01:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII


and then just overclock it for him i guess
not going to OC it, since it is not mine. He is not completely computer literate, so if something were to go wrong and with the OCing, he wouldnt know what to do and I would be liable.

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...ductCode=80826
CPU

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=322709
Video Card

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=174227
DVD Drive

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=240342
MoBo

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...tCode=85016-13
RAM

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...tCode=101206-1
HDD

Those are the parts I threw together in case of an Intel build. What do you think? PLEASE feel free to pick it apart, tell me what sucks, and what you would recommend. Pretend this is your machine, and your $1000, what would you get?
Him is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 02:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

throw them all out

AMD 64 3500+
motherboard that supports SATAII
1gig DC Corsair XMS Ram
NEC 3510A dvd-rw
NEC/Sony/Mitsumi fLoppy?
any AGP gfx card
2x 80gig SATAII HDD in RAID 0
any quality TT/antec/ocz/enermax power supply
nice case (i like thermaltakes)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 02:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...tCode=80098-22
RAM

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...01206-1-316603
HDD (couldnt find any SATA 2)

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=323280
GFX Card

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=174226
Optical

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...ctCode=80717-1
CPU

https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...Code=246486-OP
MoBo

This is a list I put together for an AMD build. Good?
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.