Broken Hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2006, 08:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default Broken Hard drive

I posted something on this same topic a while ago, I only got one response which, while helpful, didn't fix anything. I thought I might have another go. Basically, I cleverly managed to kill two hard drives by putting the black power lead in the red socket and vice versa. I assume that this blew a diode/connection or something inside the drives. I doubt it killed the motor outright. Does anyone have any experience of this problem? I'd really like to get the data off these drives.

The old thread is here:

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=66297

any input would be valuable.

Thanks
__________________

AdamDay is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 08:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

you most likely blew the motor doing that. cant really hook things up backwards and expect them to work lol. your drive its prob just a paper weight now. yes your data is prob intact but theres no way to spin the motor.

i know this doesnt help you but just letting you know your chances are near to none of getting that data since you did something electrical to the hard drive.

Ok but what happend when you powered it up, did it smoke? or just not spin? or what exectally did it do. and what does it do now when you try to power it on the right way ? and see if we can go from there.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 08:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the response.

There's no sound coming from it (unless I cant hear it over the fan). There are two drives that don't work - one is recognised as being there by the computer, but I can't get data off it. That is: I get a "new hardware detected" speech bubble and then a "problem installing" bubble and then it doesn't come up in "my computer" with the rest of them. The other drive apparently does nothing at all.

In my limited experience of motors I've found that putting power in the wrong way round like that just makes them spin backwards and I'm sure that if that broke them I'd have heard something. that's why i was hoping it was some other component. But then, HD motors are probably more complicated than those in a radio controlled car!

If I could get a new motor, is it possible I could resurrect the drive for long enough to get the data (at least some) off it without it dying first?
AdamDay is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

lol yeah hard drive motors is a little different then a RC car. i have done this once only for fun because i had extra old hard drives that i was willing to risk. i took 2 working hard drives of the same exect model and swaped the disks on the inside of the hard drive that holds that data. and they worked. you need to wear cotton gloves while handling the disks as they are very sensitive.


thats the best way i can think going about it. if you try and replace the motor think its pretty complicated where changing the disks out as long as your carefull isnt crazy hard.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.