Boot options - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2005, 03:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default Boot options

I have xp home on my laptop, i tried to upgrade to a copy of xp pro but it failed.
I'm now going to keep xp home as i sorted the problems i was having.

The problem is on boot there are now 2 boot options, one for xp home and one for the xp pro upgrade setup.
Unfortunately the default is to boot into the setup.

How can i remove the setup files from my laptop for xp pro and remove the boot option?

Sid3335 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 03:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
majistic's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434

Go into bios and change it from first boot which sounds to be set on CD-ROM change it to Floppy, second should be HDD, and Third should be CD-ROM. Do a complete reformat. Stick the disk in and windows setup will format and install windows. Then your problem should be fixed. I said them backwords. First install the XP disk, setup will take you to format the drive. Install the OS. Then go into bios and change those items, but becareful dont change anything else.

majistic is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 05:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5

er no i think you misunderstand.

I have windows installed i don't want to reformat or re-install, i just want to take away the setup files from the windows xp pro failed install.

And no the bios does not boot from cd or floppy, it boots from the hd and the problem is that there is an extra boot option to continue with the failed xp pro install i tried earlier.

i know i can just reformat, but i don't want to, surely there is a way to just remove the boot option. e,g it says on startup.


and you have to choose, but i want to get rid of option 2. as it is default and i frequently forget and it goes through loads of startup crap to begin the setup of the upgrade which i no longer want.
Sid3335 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 06:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34

just reformat the partition it put xp pro onto, it shouldn't wipe any of what you had before the attempt to install xp pro(unless i misunderstood as well) use something like partition magic or fdisk
if it got messed up and they are on the same partition then you can try re-installing home over what you have right now, so all it would do is replace os files
Fafnir is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 07:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241


Boot up into Windows, and once on the desktop, right click 'My Computer', and select' Properties'. In the new window that comes up, click the 'Advanced' tab. In the Advanced window, click on the 'Settings' button under 'Startup and Recovering'.

Now, you'll see a line of text saying:
'To edit the startup options file manually, click Edit.'

Do so, and click the 'Edit' button next to it.

Notepad should pop up with lines of boot code. Just remove the line of code that refers to Windows XP Professional Setup.

Hope you get things sorted.
TMT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.