Been along time (need new vid card) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2005, 05:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default Been along time (need new vid card)

It needs:
256 meg memory
agp slot
max price should be 175~

whats one yall would recommend?
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 06:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 46
Default

175 US dollars?
__________________

jeff_okeeffe is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

6600GT, it's only 128meg and 180-185$ at newegg.com

Remeber, the memory does not really determine the peformance of the card. Remeber how the 128meg 9800 pro's outpeformed the 256 meg 9800 pro's? The 6600GT outpeforms ANYTHING in it's price range by far.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 09:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Kadahaf, do you need 256 MB for a special reason? e.g. are you running modelling software that requires you to have that much "independent" information to manupulate on the graphics memory?

Otherwise, if you are just a gamer, as Dj-Chris said, a 6600 GT with 128mb vid ram is more than enough - and will positively violate any card that has less processing power but with 256 mb.
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

yes I can go plus or minus max would be like 200 us dollars,

I wanted 256 megs because I wanted smoothness for my games eg: bf2 and I thought that 256 would cut it and 128 would die ><
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kadahaf
yes I can go plus or minus max would be like 200 us dollars,

I wanted 256 megs because I wanted smoothness for my games eg: bf2 and I thought that 256 would cut it and 128 would die ><
you got any sources to back up the fact that BF2 needs 256?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

accually one of my friends tested a x600 pro with 256 and a x600 pro with 128 meg ram, and 256 performed better >.>
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

what game did he test it with
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 02:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-515&depa=1

This is the only card in that price range that is AGP and has 256MB of RAM. There is an XFX 6600 GT with 256mb of RAM but it only has a 128 bit bus so that is kinda stupid.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default

im now looking at the 6600GT. i have a Chaintech motherboard. do you think it would make any difference if i got a chaintech card as opposed to one of the other brands??
__________________

ebayfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.