ASUS P4P800-E-Deluxe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2004, 10:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bdgerjmn Send a message via Yahoo to bdgerjmn
Unhappy ASUS P4P800-E-Deluxe

Just put together a new PC with an ASUS P4P800-E-Deluxe, WD 250MB 100mbs HDD, ATI Radeon 9600 SE 128MB, 512 MB DDR RAM, and a CD-RW drive. WinXP Pro OS. Pretty basic setup. When I boot up from a cold start I get an error "Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key". If i press a key with a Win XP CD or Startup floppy in the drive it does nothing, even with the BIOS set up to boot from the CD/Floppy or vice versa, and just reverts back to the same error. If I cold start the machine and enter the BIOS, the HD does not show up initiallywith auto detect enabled, but if I open up the auto detect line in the BIOS it shows up. I reboot from there and the machine boots just ine. If I just hit CNTL/ALT/DEL from the boot media error it boots just fine and works 4.0. I have chatted with ASUS on this one and from reading alot of tech forums it seems like a pretty common issue with ASUS MOBOs. I have reseated the cables, cleared the CMOS, changed the CMOS battery(thinking that maybe the CMOS is dumping-ASUS told me to do this as well) to no avail. I have tried putting the HDD on the secondary IDE port to no avail. ASUS seems to be sending me in circles on this one. Is it a 100/133 compatibility issue. If it is why would it boot on the second time around. It seems as if the BIOS is not finding the HD soon enough before it kicks in the error message but with a restart via CNTL/ALT/DEL it keeps the HDD info in there and boots fine. Any ideas?
__________________

bdgerjmn is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 10:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bdgerjmn Send a message via Yahoo to bdgerjmn
Default

The only detect time that I can find in the BIOS is under IDE configuration. It is defaulted to 35. I've tried several settings on that detection time to no avail.
__________________

bdgerjmn is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

Assuming the hard drive is set to master, try setting it to Cable select.
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 06:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bdgerjmn Send a message via Yahoo to bdgerjmn
Default

Still no luck on the first boot. I've pretty much run out of ideas. I think it is a BIOS issue that ASUS needs to fix.
bdgerjmn is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bdgerjmn Send a message via Yahoo to bdgerjmn
Default

Anyone have any ideas on this one?
bdgerjmn is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 12:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

Disconnect the hard drive completely and see if you can boot into a CD or boot disk atleast. If it does then it must have something to do with the hdd.
Can the board support 250gb?

(you did mean 250gb right? not 250mb?)
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 49
Default

make sure you have the latest bios... those Asus boards are known to be manufactured with older BIOS versions..
__________________
- Intel 2.8E @ 3.36GHz
- Asus P4P800-E DLX
- 4X512MB (2Gig) Crucial PC3200
- ATI 9600 All-In-Wonder
- RAID card for extra IDE channels
- 120G Western Digital SATA for Windows
- 120G IDE Western Digital Hard Drive
- 80G IDE Maxtor Hard Drive
- Pioneer 107D DVD burner
- LG CDRW/DVD Combo
- Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
- Logitech Z680 speakers
- Thermaltake Xavier II Full Tower
- Thermaltake PurePower 480W ps
- Logitech MX Duo combo wireless keyboard/mouse
- Sharp 17\" LCD monitor
c_ro11 is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 05:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bdgerjmn Send a message via Yahoo to bdgerjmn
Default

Board has latest BIOS. I've tried reseating the cables and using different cables. According to ASUS 250GB is fine. It's an ATA drive and the board can support 133mb/s even though mine is 100 ASUS says its fine. Is there a detection time in the BIOS? Some said that the detection time is defaulted to zero. I havn't seen that written anywhere.
bdgerjmn is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 08:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bdgerjmn Send a message via Yahoo to bdgerjmn
Default ASUS Boot Issue

Ok guys, I am a complete moron. As I started to install my backup HD for the file transfer to backup before reformatting the 250, I noticed the jumper was set to master with slave as it should have been with the 30GB drive in as well. I set the jumpers to single master and voila it works like a champ without reformatting the drive and reinstalling windows. I can't believe I missed that one. Thanks for all the help though.

Bdger
__________________

bdgerjmn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.