Arctic Silver....woops! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2003, 04:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to AntRam
Default

Ah, well I think I'll just get rid of it then. Too bad, it was a decent board (Shuttle AN35N Ultra). I'll have to use my backup board ASUS A7N266-VM. It's an older board, I just hope it supports an XP 2000+ chip. Let this be a lesson to you all, don't be sloppy and take care of your parts :sigh:
__________________

AntRam is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 05:08 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

but I think thats remote as Artic Sliver is designed to conduct HEAT..Not Electricty or current.

Sorry MicroBell but this is very WRONG.
Arctic silver contains silver particle, zinc and aluminum (read specs on arctic silver site) and each of those metals is highly conductive. The reason they use metal particles and silicon in a heat dissipative paste is because they conduct heat as easily as current and can therefore be used to cool down your CPU by absorbing its heat and allowing it to be blown off by your fan.

If any of the paste makes contact between 2 pins, it will short them out.

However, it can be cleaned using the tips mentionned in my earlier post. You just have to take your time and apply yourself.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 04:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yes i confirm this and was going to correct him also. the newer type of artic silver is electrically conductive and is known to be extremely messy. people have been cautioned to be careful with it.

this is why i use the ceramique version of the new artic sivler, no electrical worries and it is not messy, and works almost as good at tranfering heat.. can you try compressed air to blow it out of the holes?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-08-2003, 05:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

On its own, compressed air is not enough. You have to flush the holes with a contact cleaner or alcool based product (rubbing alcool works fine) and a brush (small paint brush for example).

When you flush it out, you got to be careful not to spray it all over the place and short other components.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.