ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2008, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 84
Question ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

Hey guys, is ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro enough to oc E2180 up to 3.0Ghz and why it doesn't need thermal paste? Does it have it included or something or I don't need it at all?
__________________

fhasser is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

Yes its plenty... I have one on my e6750, OC'd to 3.53GHz; idles at ~25C, and load around 42. And it has pre-applied MX-2 (or is it MX-1 still?).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

You don't need TP because the one that is on it is already better than Arctic Silver.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

it comes with thermal paste on it, and you can get to 3ghz on that cpu with stock cooling
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Yes its plenty... I have one on my e6750, OC'd to 3.53GHz; idles at ~25C, and load around 42. And it has pre-applied MX-2 (or is it MX-1 still?).
yep 2nd that completely

also some of the older versions of the AF7 come with MX-1 Thermal Pad, while the Newer ones come with MX-2 Thermal Pad's
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 04:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

Thought the newer ones came with MX-2, but I wasn't for sure xD.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 04:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 84
Default Re: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

Wow, thanks a lot, that clears everything.
fhasser is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 05:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

I have the amd version, its a really good cooler, the thermal that comes stock is great too.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 10:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

yep, both the Arctic Freezer 64 and Arctic Freezer 7 are the best bang for the buck CPU Coolers
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 04:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
yep, both the Arctic Freezer 64 and Arctic Freezer 7 are the best bang for the buck CPU Coolers
or Tuniq, this thing is a monster n hard to put on my mobo. Best one ive seen on the net n proves it too *sig*.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64 mcovalt New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-26-2008 10:42 PM
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro not lowering CPU temp. from stock cooler youngflyer12 Overclocking and Modding 19 01-10-2008 10:47 PM
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro fan question carnageX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-20-2007 11:32 PM
FS: Brand new in box Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 mgcook Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 19 09-05-2007 03:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.