antec sonata capabilities - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2005, 08:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default antec sonata capabilities

Hello
I was wondering if i could have 5 hard drives seated in the antec sonata, keeping in mind that it has a 380 watt power supply.

i was thinking of going for some sort of RAID configuration doing redundancy and speed at the same tim(RAID 0 + 1 ??)
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

What is the rest of the systems specs, If you don't have a top of the line graphics card than you should be fine with the psu http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

The case has 4 internal and 2 external, so you could have 4 in the hard drive cage, and have one where the floppy drives go.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

yeah i guess i could use one of the floppy drive 3.5 inch bays.

i got a NVIDIA 5700 Ultra (that seem to be pretty power hungry, requires a molex cable plugin)
gigabyte 81875 ultra mobo

do different hard drive types have different power requirements, e.g. SATA, PATA, SCSI?
rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.