AMD's 3GHz Athlon 64-FX 'due Q1 2006' - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default AMD's 3GHz Athlon 64-FX 'due Q1 2006'

A short article on Tom's Hardware Guide.

Quote:
AMD will upgrade its Athlon 64 X2 and 64-FX processor lines early next year - potentially the chips' final Socket 939 incarnations before the company debuts its M2 interconnect in Q2 2006.

The FX-59, clocked to 3GHz, will ship in Q1 2006. So will a 2.6GHz dual-core Athlon X2, possibly with a 5000+ rating, according to AMD roadmaps. The two chips are derived from AMD's 'San Diego' and 'Toledo' cores, respectively.
The article links to a Register article, the source of the news. The Register one has a lot of juicy info on several upcoming releases.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/07...roadmap_05-06/
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

dang, new chips already? this kind of pisses ppl off who bought top of the line technology, cuz it gets old so fast... AMD rules, Intel is still having trouble "tieing their shoes"...haven't heard much from them at all lately
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Intel is coming out with a brand new line of processors with a new architecture. They should keep AMD in check.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Hah! Intel keeps AMD in check in the market, but that's about it.

Can't wait to see how the new line will bench.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

I plan on upgrading to a 64-bit 939 system when I get the money for my next upgrade. Maybe I'll shoot for one of those hot babies. (If I have the money by then; probably not.)
It worries me, though, that the way I upgrade my computer is that I end up getting decent equipment near the end of it's lifespan, so once I get my 939 board, cpu, and new vid card, it will only be months before it is thrown out for the new socket.
I guess that's just how it goes, though, eh?
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

I'll take it..
Powerslave is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

shoot... just buy something you're happy with that runs some of your more favorite games and stick with it for a few years. If you buy something top of the line at any time, it normally will run all applications for at least a FEW years. no need to upgrade all the time.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Socket M2 for AMD and as for intel, expect a new mobo soon.
Roger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
no need to upgrade all the time.
Do you not love your computer? i dont know about you but i seem to drop every dollar i have into my computer. In the last year alone ive gone through 3 video cards, 2 motherboards, 2 processors, and 2 power supplies. i dont think i understand your reasoning, but then again i think i have a problem spending money on computer stuff.
__________________
MCSE Certified (passed on second try lol). But am only 15.
TechKid is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

intel is coming out with revisions for there dual core processors very soon here but for new sockets prolly not to soon since 775 its quite new and 75% of intel user still have 4xx so no need to just raise the fsb of the new systems intel will keep amd in check performance wize cause they will own amd sooner or later
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.