AMD Processor vs Intel Processor - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2004, 03:31 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

do you think 1GB RAM is sufficeint enough for UniGraphics-type programs?? I'm going to be running those along with mah games.
__________________

Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 03:41 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

if there is even one more hint of a flame or sarcastic remark in this thread, be it Amd vs Intel or someones computer or whatever this thread will be closed immediatly!!

why does this always happen in **** vs **** threads?! "vs." does not mean its a free for all battle discounting others' opinions (or computer or intelligence).

::head shaking::

--jak
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 03:52 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Way to take charge jak lol.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 03:54 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

again i ask do you think 1GB RAM is sufficeint enough for UniGraphics-type programs??
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 03:54 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
do you think 1GB RAM is sufficeint enough for UniGraphics-type programs?? I'm going to be running those along with mah games.
That'll be more than enough. You really don't need more than 1gb these days. Not yet anyway. Use a program like FreeMem and it'll tell you how much RAM is left in your system.

EDIT:
Quote:
again i ask do you think 1GB RAM is sufficeint enough for UniGraphics-type programs??
You posted 20 mins ago and a moderator had to address something else before it became more of a problem than it should have been. Keep your pants on man, your questions don't go unseen, no need to double post.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 04:01 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

alright thanks
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 04:07 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Default

so i guess the majority of the people on the forums think AMDs are way better than Intels?

I have nothing against AMD but personally i'd prefer Intel over AMD. =]
__________________
<font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana\"><Color=\"red\">Under The Hood</font></color>
Blake is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 04:23 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
so i guess the majority of the people on the forums think AMDs are way better than Intels?
That's how flames get started (not saying you're starting a flame just listen to me for a sec ) But it's from Intels assuming people think AMD's are 'waaay better' this isn't the case....it's just that here in particular, people prefer AMD whereas you prefer Intel and each person has their reasons. You can't really label everyone in here as them 'Thinking AMDs are way better than Intel'

Like in my case, it's simply I prefer AMD, whereas you stated you prefer Intel. I won't lie to you, I've mostly dealt with AMD so I'll blatantly tell you I'm biased towards them. The things I like about AMD are some really simple reasons like the fact that they aren't advertising whores like Intel and haven't been around as long, so it's that underdog factor that makes me like them. Beyond that it seems that they listen to their consumers and try to make the best chip possible, whereas Intel, it really doesn't matter. They put chips in dells, HP's, e-machines, all for grandmas and whatnot so the majority of the people who use Intel generally don't know squat about computers whereas someone with an AMD Built machine either built it themselves, or atleast ordered the parts for someone else to build.... You kinda have to know a little about computers just to know of AMD, whereas you're practically born knowing about Intel as the leading brand.

Not saying you don't know computers just because you have Intel, I'm more speaking of course in terms of Dell, HP, prebuilt machines like that that your grandma use.

The majority of the people on here choose AMD, and they have their reasons. There are a few who will blindly say 'NAH AMD IS BETTER' but they will have nothing to back it up, so you just ignore those people.

Generally the rule of thumb around here is:

Intel = Apps
AMD = Gaming

which for the most part seems fairly true.

Plus you gotta like the fact that AMD can do more with 2GHz than Intel can. It would take Intel 3GHz depending on the type of core the 2GHz AMD had....my chip is OC'd to 2.5 right now for temperature reasons, but when it was at 2.7 I have benches where it would easily beat a 3.6 and up to 3.8GHz Intel depending on the bench and Intel chip. Obviously it's not benched against an EXTREME EDITION!!! Intel or anything like that, but still....2.7GHz comparing to 3.8 is pretty nice.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 04:38 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

1GB is more than enough RAM, and that money would be much better spent elsewhere.
What's more, you can always add RAM to your computer at no sacrifice, and if you add it later when you actually need it, it will be less costly. Parts like a vid card on the other hand, can only be replaced.
Spare yourself $200 and buy a 6800 GT or 9800 XT or some other high-end graphics card...or just pocket the cash!
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 05:53 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Default

i wasn't really starting a flame, just wanted to see the 2 sides. But thanks for pointing out some things Nubius. I personally am not a hardcore gamer where i need my machine to be overclocked to the max with extreme water cooling type of person. Generally, what Intel has to offer is enough.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but i heard from other people that AMD cpus tend to run hotter than intel chips because intel cpu's have better cooling methods? again correct me if i'm wrong. I just want to confirm if thats true?
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana\"><Color=\"red\">Under The Hood</font></color>
Blake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.