Amd Dual Core polls - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Where are you from??? (simple version)
N. America 10 100.00%
S. America 0 0%
Somewhere else 0 0%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2005, 10:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Exclamation Amd Dual Core polls

How much do you think they are going to be?
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

expensive
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

considering it allows you to essentially have double the processing power cheap, cheaper than going the dual processor route,probably faster too, less latency issues between processors and memory

Im wondering what winblows response time to this will be LOL, took em what about a year to make a 64bit kernel for XP?

question for windows geeks, does windows even support SMP at this time?
horndude is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I think it will be about the same as a fx55. Xp pro supports them btw.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by horndude
considering it allows you to essentially have double the processing power cheap, cheaper than going the dual processor route,probably faster too, less latency issues between processors and memory

Im wondering what winblows response time to this will be LOL, took em what about a year to make a 64bit kernel for XP?

question for windows geeks, does windows even support SMP at this time?
SMP for Linsux and Windows
Windows supports SMP. (SMP has been supported in Windows since NT.)
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 11:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

ya I just checked, as of now XP pro supports SMP, but only 2 processors,any other XP edition does not
horndude is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 11:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

That would be because only the Pro edition is meant for stuff like this. XPME and XP-Home aren't meant for people messing around with SMP or MPPUs.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 07:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Those processors are gonna cost a lot.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 07:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Well, first of all, AMD stated that the FX series of processors will still remain their top of the line cores, therefore you can reach the conclusion that the Toledo core will cost less than the Sledgehammer (?) cores.

Also, based on it's near identical specifications to the 4000+, however, it's more efficent and cost effective 90nm process, it should come out cheaper than the 4000+.

Basing my estimate on the leaked benchmarks that came out a while ago, which show the Toledo outperforming the 3800+ but still being outdone by the 4000+, I'm taking a guess and suggesting that the price of the Toledo will be about the same price as the 3800+ is right now, pending its release date. $300-500 is my guess.

I'm curious, based on the fact that it is two cores, can you overclock one core yet keep the other core stock speeds, or adjust them to run at seperate speeds. That'd be pretty cool in my opinion.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 07:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

I think they will share memory and FSB speed, so I doubt individual clock rates will happen.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.