AMD advertising is not right!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2004, 01:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207

agree 100%

amd all the way

amd643200+ is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 06:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Intel Rules

Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 07:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
dethangel's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934

Originally posted by XT
no in that i'd go with the 2500+. Intel has high clock speeds with basically the same fsb as amds but quad pumped hence making it over 2 x amds fsb speeds. But design now adays is the main feture, Because take the 3000+ vs the 3ghz 800 fsb intel 512 die cache. there roughly about the same but wait a second the amd has less fsb and less clock speeds what makes up for that=Design. benchmarks are meaningless
the reason AMDs are faster with a slow clock speed (ie: a 1.8GHz runs like a P4 2.5GHz) is because of the instructions set, AMD runs off of CISC and intel runs off of RISC, the difference is IPC the instructions per clock, AMD sends more instructions per clock cycle, therefore doenst need as fas of a clock speed, but intel sends fewer instructions per clock, so the processor has to be faster, BUT that is why Intel has major heat problems, and thats why AMD is not supported by MS

by the way, i am intel all the way, ive seen the new benchmarks, and the fact that you can run pc3200 in dual channel with the new P4s was enough to convince me to get a 2.8GHz, i cant wait till i get it all together, its gonna be sweet!
dethangel is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 12:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 18

well ok, what would be good for a workstation? AMD64 3200 or a P4,800 mhz ??
Flavor4real is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 08:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

800Mhz bus? many P4 are 800 bus. for workstation get xp2500 or P4 2.4Ghz version C 800Mhz front side bus.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-03-2004, 12:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60

INTEL SUCKS! (not litterally) But the point is that AMD like someone already said is more widely used by builders than intel, which will come default with dell/gateway etc. I think that INTEL is worse with their advertising because they're all that people see nowadays... "Oh wow, a dell, with a pentium 4!" thats the "good standard" Together, dependent on each other, Microsoft, INTEL, and Dell hold such a big monopoly its not even funny... And they all strengthen each other... Where Would Microsoft be without INTEL or Dell? Where would INTEL be without Microsoft and Dell? Where would Dell be without Intel and Microsoft? Well... what Im getting at is that if u use an AMD u probably know enough about it that you wont get "tricked" by their ads, and if you do, uve probably used INTEL a bit too much...and maybe Dell... Or Microsoft...
Dimitri is offline  
Old 02-03-2004, 12:41 AM   #17 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60

AMD all the way... Intel is just not right, with their trimonopoly with Microsoft and Dell... Its wrong...
Dimitri is offline  
Old 02-03-2004, 05:05 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to mokelizer Send a message via Yahoo to mokelizer

AMD is the underdog, but intel holds the reigns, intel has the money and power for technology and will always hold the lead, AMD is a smaller corp but does make good products, considering the giant comp their against. Still and intel fan though,
mokelizer is offline  
Old 02-03-2004, 09:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718

I think Dimitri put it perfectly dont conform be uniquie amd i see it like this it depends on what you what to do if you want to run half-life 2 go amd if you wanna run a server go intel
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-03-2004, 01:44 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 32

The XP version of AMD's CPUs are compared against the 533Mhz CPUs by Intel. For example an AMD XP 2500+ is comparable to Intel's 2.53 533Mhz.

However, when Intel bumped their FSB to 800Mhz, this increased their performance. The same 2.53 would now run much faster.

AMD did the same thing. Their 2200+ processor runs at 1.83. The 2500+ also runs at 1.83. The only difference is the latter has a higher FSB. The 2200 (Thorougbred) runs at 266 fsb. The 2500 (Barton) runs at 333.

One more thing to look at. The AMD XP 3200+ is not nearly as fast as the AMD 64 3200+. They both have the same "3200" rating and they both run at 2.2Ghz, but the former is definitely slower.

Intel does this too. They have a 3.2 Northwood & Prescott cores. Some Northwoods run at 533Mhz and some run at 800Mhz. The Prescott doubles their cache and adds other stuff to the chip. Plus they have some Northwoods that are called Extreme Editions. Mind you, all have the 3.2 rating, but there are so many different versions and their performance all varies so drastically.

In summary, the only reason we have to put up with the ratings is for MARKETING. Afterall, how would you explain AMD getting much more performance out of a slower CPU? People see 4Ghz and wet themselves. If AMD's could provide the same performance, but only running at 1Ghz, they could potentially loose out on a lot of profits from non-tech savy customers.

Thankfully, AMD has started to get away from their rating system and have released a new name for their fastest chip - the FX-51.

Guapo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.