are all SSDs based on SATA? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2009, 06:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
advancedgeek's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default are all SSDs based on SATA?

hey guys just out of curiosity are all SSDs as of today are based on SATA? are there any IDE or SCSI SSDs? I know that the normal HDDs have IDE SATA and SCSI but i've never seen an IDE or SCSI SSD.

Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 06:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Kharn's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: are all SSDs based on SATA?

Yes they are all sata from my experience, however technically Compact Flash is a form of SSD and it uses a form IDE controller. You can buy IDE to CF flash adapters and the same goes for SATA to CF cards the only problem being is the cost the adapters are cheep 7 - 20 pound as are the small capacity cards (256mb - 4gb) they can go from 6 - 30 depending where you shop but the serious capacity cards (8gb an over) can set you back some serious money.

Visit this and do something for the world!

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 10:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688
Default Re: are all SSDs based on SATA?

There are SAS SSD drives, that is the replacement for SCSI...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 01:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Default Re: are all SSDs based on SATA?

I saw one SSD that had to use the PCI-E bus
it was too fast for the SATA bus
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
philbar71's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: are all SSDs based on SATA?

i saw some of them at newegg have USB connections on them as well as sata.

The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD


<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688
Default Re: are all SSDs based on SATA?

Well after some research there are IDE/PATA versions, SATA and SAS versions, even USB versions, even though the USB versions on the inside of the drive are really SATA, so it seems they come in all flavors... Only one SSD doesn't exist on is a REAL SCSI chain....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 07:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Drizzt's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: are all SSDs based on SATA?

No, not all SSD's are SATA... now they have PCI-E. OCZ makes a SSD ... errr... card (1tb) that looks like a VHS tape and it goes in your pci-e slot. And there is now a *gag* fatality branded SSD that goes into pci-e slots. The price tags are just insane imo though. I'm sure there are others.

CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to install XP 64bits on new HP desktop - problem with SATA manolain New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-01-2009 06:43 AM
SATA issues... CalcProgrammer1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 12-30-2008 03:05 PM
Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD bendrichard System Upgrades 3 05-12-2008 04:48 PM
are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards rookie1010 System Upgrades 6 04-06-2008 10:15 PM
SATA 2 Question juh-may-uh-kun mon System Upgrades 0 10-07-2007 10:31 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.