a7n8x-x mobo - on board audio prob - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2004, 11:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Default a7n8x-x mobo - on board audio prob

I am putting together a computer with an asus a7n8x-x mobo. Everything seemed to have went ok. Everything installed ok, I was up & running. I tried putting a music cd in the Sony CD-RW, but it would not read .cda files. I also tried to burn an audio cd with nero software, and I still had problems. Intitially I thought it was the CD-RW drive, so I put in another CD-RW, from another computer that works, and I had the same problem. I made sure I had all the current drivers, and it says I do. Does anyone have any ideas as to what the problem might be? Any and all help would be much appreciated!
__________________

insanity456 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 98
Default

check out how everything is jumpered as far as master and slave, but that wouldn't cause you to not read .cda. the .cda would have to be an application problem. prolly nothing is set up to read that file type.
__________________

__________________
If I\'m curt with you, it\'s because time is a factor. I think fast. I talk fast. And, I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please with sugar on top, clean the fu**ing car- Winston Wolf, Pulp Fiction
wansingct is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 02:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Well even if nothing was set up to read that file type, wmp would still open to play it =/ wait i just read the title of the post.. so you're not getting audio? lol.. before you EVER post something about not getting audio, or something's not working.. make sure everything is plugged in correctly, speakers are all connected right, plugged into the outlet, i believe it'd be the blue one in your case. but check all of that right now =), go go then tell us what's going on
Demalii is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Default

As soon as I get home I will check all the connections again. I'm pretty sure all is hooked up correctly. I know, i know, As soon as I'm sure i'm right, that's when things are wrong. I will definately double-check. I thank all who reply. I greatly appreciate it.
insanity456 is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

theres nothing wrong with the cd-rom connections or the drive itself. you do not have the audio codecs installed. you can either goto microsoft website and install the windows media player 9 codec pack............or better yet download winamp5 and use it to play your music CD's
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Well, everything seems to be in order in regards to connections. I did download WinAmp, and still no luck. I tried with the Sony CD-RW, and another from a different computer, and I still have problems with audio. With the other burner, I was able to burn data files ok, but I could not burn audio. With the Sony CD-RW (the one I was originally having problems with), it is only showing up in Nero as an Image Recorder, not a CD-RW. Any ideas? Could this be a driver problem?
insanity456 is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 12:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via ICQ to Landoix
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Demalii
i believe it'd be the blue one in your case.
..Should be green if I remember correctly, but could be wrong. Might be the problem tho.
Landoix is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Default

It is the green one. I do have the speakers hooked up correctly, but it's still a no-go. I will keep trying things out.
I hate computers...........and yet, I love them. It's a cruel world!
Thanks for everyone's help. I will keep an eye out for more suggestions.
insanity456 is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 10:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Well, I figured out the problem with the CD-RW. Still having trouble with the audio. I'm pretty sure it is the drivers. I will reinstall the drivers from the mobo cd and see what happens.
insanity456 is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 11:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
theres nothing wrong with the cd-rom connections or the drive itself. you do not have the audio codecs installed. you can either goto microsoft website and install the windows media player 9 codec pack............
Insanity, did you not see this message? This is also what I believe the problem is. Just install the WMP codecs. Maybe it's my old version of Winamp (that I prefer over the new), but on my computer Winamp won't give me audio if I don't have the codecs installed. Go ahead and go to microsoft.com like ekÆsine said. I think I have that exact same mother board, and that's what I had to do when I built my comp about a month ago.
__________________

Total Immortal is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.