A7N8X problems... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2004, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default A7N8X problems...

I've got a PC sitting here next to me which blew its PSU last week. I just replaced the dodgy PSU and stuck the lot in a new case. The problem I've got is pretty strange and I thought that in a forum as big and knowledgeable as this I might find someone who could help or advise me.

Before I start, I'd like to say that I've worked in PC repair, so the tentative "have you tried the power button?" level questions aren't necessary

The problem is this: it won't turn on. The mobo's getting power (the pilot light is on), everything is plugged in how it should be. I've connecting the case switch (and all the other case connectors) and tried powering up, but nothing happens. No fan movements, no beeps, nothing. So I tried manually shorting the power pins on the mobo... nothing. It's weird because usually if a mobo's acting up (or a component is dead) it will try to start the boot process and tell me what's wrong.

So there's power but it won't initiate the boot sequence at all. I'm thinking a dead mobo.

Any ideas, or do I just replace it? Here's the specs:

Asus A7N8X-X Nforce 2
Barton 2500XP
1gb DDR3200
GF3
SB Audigy 2 ZS

Any responses appreciated.
__________________

Alchemist is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

When my Mobo did the same thing it turned out to be Bad Ram. Just my 2 cents worth Dude!
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yes, test with another stick of memory and also another video card, likely those fried. i warn you though, you are taking a risk by using parts on hardware that you know may be damaged so don't test with anything valuable. damage parts can fry other hardware. let me guess, the faulty PSU was a cheapo generic one?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

my computer gets like that sometimes where my pilot light is on but pressing the power button doesnt do anything. what i find helps when this happens is resetting my psu by either unplugging it or pressing the button on back to turn it off and then when i turn it back on my computer will start. just a thought hope it helps.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

It may be your Ram, video card(it would boot anyway), or even maybe your CPU or your mobo. I would first try replacing your RAM...then your videocard...so forth and so on
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 02:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default

First of all, thanks for all the responses.
Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
Also consider testing this outside of the PC case on a workbench in case of a short on the board. Do you get any beep codes?
No beep codes. It doesn't start the boot process. That's the weird thing about it: if it was trying to start, failing and beeping, I'd be able to diagnose the problem (loose video card, incorrect ram setup etc). It doesn't even try. I think this removes any chance of it being ram-related: wouldn't it try to boot even if it didn't find any ram? As in, the fans of the PSU would start to go round, maybe the cpu fan would kick in... none of these things are happening. I've tried re-seating everything except the cpu, and I'm loath to do that because it requires removing the psu (nasty thermaltake fansink with it's bloody huge clip), and I've seen enough cracked Athlon cpu dies already...

Quote:
let me guess, the faulty PSU was a cheapo generic one?
Yes, and it's precisely for this reason that I myself spent nearly £100 on my own PC's PSU. Sadly the computer I'm working with had a cheap "hiper" PSU.

I will probably take the hardware out and test it outside the case, as suggested. It'll all have to come out anyway, I'm pretty sure there's nothing more I can do. If it doesn't work outside the case then I'll get a new mobo. Thanks again for all the advice.
Alchemist is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 03:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

If you give up hope on it, I'll take it...
__________________

__________________
FireFox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.