2800+ shows 2200+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2005, 09:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default 2800+ shows 2200+

I recently upgraded to a barton 2800+ from a 2000+ processor. Unfortently, my RAM is pc2100.

Because I only have pc2100 RAM, I am unable to set my bios up to 166mhz so that it will be able to use my processors full power.

I am wondering if having the 2800+ with my current configuration is any better than simply having a 2200+. Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

default101 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388

Of couse it is better. And I would look into buying better ram (or budget ram even, but @ the correct speed).

Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Defiantly buy new ram that's PC3200, runs about 60$ a stick max for a 512.

But, if you set your ram multiplier lower, you can up your FSB to get full speed most likely
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 03:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Generally on most mobos you should be able to set your 2800+ at the appropriate 166FSB and the RAM will simply not follow it up that high due to the SPD table they contain which tells them what speed to run at unless you've specified in the BIOS for the RAM to be at a 1:1 ratio with the CPU
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 03:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2

I am planning to buy new RAM as soon as my budget allows. Will setting my MB to 166FSB hurt my memory in any way?
default101 is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 04:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175

Don't clock the RAM to 166 MHz. Wait and upgrade.

FrontSide is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.