2500 runs cooler? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2004, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default 2500 runs cooler?

i had my 2500 @ 2.2ghz, now i plopped a 3200 in and it's running like.. almost 8c hotter? i'm sure the artic silver's on good, and i've tried re-applying twice, do these chips just run hotter?
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 12:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434
Default

Im sure it would - more power, more heat, if im understanding your question right - your saying the 2500 is running hotter? if that is the case it is because of the heat transfer from the 3200.
__________________

__________________
CCNA, CCNP, A+, N+.
________________
I agrue with people.|
--------------------------
digital_darknes is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 02:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if you overclocked it heat increase should be expected. do not exceed 62-65 celcius normal operating temps or you have a problem.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 09:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

no no, my 2500 when i was using it was overclocked to 3200+ temps were below 45C, now i installed a 3200+ (stock) and it's running @ 48C stock... lol how did both of ya'll get that backwards... i'm not that dumb
Demalii is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 10:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

maybe the increased fsb affects? noticed any performance difference between old and new?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 02-18-2004, 09:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

notice no differences, i had my other chip running the same speed see... only difference i thought i'd find would be less heat.. but erm, welp
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.