1 beep on bootup!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2005, 11:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default 1 beep on bootup!!

well.. my computers all fine but on bootup i have 1 beep.. just a short one.. like 1 second long

why!! cos i have heard it means i have a problem
__________________

__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

LOL nope one beep is the all clear. More than one is when you have problems.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 11:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default

but sometimes i dont get a beep
__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It is fine. I only get a beep if I go into my BIOS - which is a good thing, as mine is really load.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default

but why do i ojnly get a beep sometimes??
__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Only sometimes? That is wierd. What motherboard and BIOS is it?
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default

k7n2 i think.. nforce 2
__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

What are you doing different the times that it does the beep, if nothing maybe a dodgy connection?

If it annoys you, just unplug it, and plug it back in when your pc blows up.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

try this just for ****s and giggles. Do a restart via windows, does it beep?
Now do a shut down, wait 10 seconds and then press the power button. Does it beep?

I just want to see if it is releated to the way the computer cycles.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

One beep. One beep only.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.