Won't boot to bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2009, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default Won't boot to bios

I'm hoping someone can offer advice on my problem. I just received a new video card and memory to install on my old ASRock 939 dual sata MB. Installed the new memory and card and when I powered on, nothing. No bios screen. No beeps. No HD activity indicating it was booting. I can only power off with switch on PSU.
I took the new video card out and put old one back in. I took the new memory out and still no boot. Fan comes on PSU. Any advice on how to troubleshoot this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
__________________

ttech is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 04:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Won't boot to bios

Put your old suff back in, and reset your cmos. Check your mobo manual.

Then Vid card with old RAM

Then add new RAM, and try.

If it doesn't boot inbetween do the cmos.

What RAM and vid card is the new one?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 04:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Won't boot to bios

The memory is OCZ 2X1GB DDR400 and the video card is a Sapphire 4830. The ASRock site seems to be down for the moment but I'll look up how to reset CMOS when it's back up. I hadn't thought about trying CMOS reset.
ttech is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Won't boot to bios

What card was in before?

Don't forget to use driveCleANer to wipe out the old driver.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 08:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Won't boot to bios

Well my old card was an EVGA 7600GT that went out a week ago. While I was waiting on the new card to arrive I was running some old AGP card I had laying around. That was working fine until I tried installing the new card and memory.
I tried resetting the CMOS but still nothing. I tried booting with just one of the old memory cards. I checked the connection of every cable coming off the power supply. I even tried another old video card I have. The CPU fan and case fans come on. The power light comes on red. No beeps or hard drive activity. I'm lost.
ttech is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Won't boot to bios

Hmm, I wonder if you've bent the board and shorted out the board..

Did you happen to unplug the cpu power cable by accident? Its the 4 pin by the cpu,

Most importantly...... you did plug in pci-e of the 4830 correct?

Your 7600gt didn't have thisx plug...
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 09:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Won't boot to bios

I checked the CPU power cable and it's good and the new card was plugged into the PCIe slot correctly. I'm beginning to think I shorted out the motherboard. I noticed that the CD drives won't work unless I unplug them from the motherboard. The only other thing I can think of is the power supply, but since all the fans work I'm betting it's the MB. I guess it's time to check Newegg for another MB. And if I'm doing that I might as well upgrade the processor too.
ttech is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 12:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Won't boot to bios

Patonb means did you plug in the auxillary power for the card, not if it was seated correctly in the pci-e slot.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 12:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Won't boot to bios

I'm betting no pci-e power plug.

Look on your 4830, you'll see an 6 pin plugin...

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 02:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Won't boot to bios

Yes, there is a PCIe power plug on the 4830 and I had that connected to the power cable from the PSU.
__________________

ttech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New system won't boot into BIOS liamm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-05-2009 01:35 PM
Boot Sequence Troubles cylon Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-21-2008 02:59 PM
Unusual boot problem with self-built computer N-TWO-O Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 09-16-2008 09:42 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
How to Boot from CD in Bios jakec Microsoft Windows and Software 8 07-02-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.