What's wrong? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2008, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default What's wrong?

Specs:
AMD 3500
DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-d
1 GIG samasung ram
500 Watt Antec PSU
7600GT 256MB
160GIG HDD

Problem: Everytime I try to start up my computer 1 of 2 things happens.
1) It turns on and about 1-2 seconds later just turns off, I don't get to any sort of screen on my monitor.
2) Usually when my computer was working it would spin the fan very quickly for about 2-3 seconds at start up and die down to a slower (quieter) speed. The second thing that happens is that it continues to spin at the fastest speed possiable for an endless amount of time. (nothing shows up on the screen).

This is my mobo maunual:
http://www.dfi.com.tw/Upload/Manual/847505312.pdf

I find the problem on page 15 of the manual where it shows the 4 LED's that cause the problem.

My led's show up as 1,2,3,4 are lit up. So the system is starting up. But in acctuality it does not.

What is my possiable solution, I am VERY low on money so buying ANY replacement parts is out of question.

I RMA'd the PSU about 7 month ago and It worked no problem
I RMA'd the Ram 3 day's ago, the first day nothing like this happend, then next day my comp just randomly shut off, I turned it on and was fine for about 3-5 hours then it happend again.

HELP!
__________________

__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default Re: What's wrong?

Ok, so I checked the RAM, it's fine.

Is it possiable that the PSU is not giving out enough 5V and 12V power? So sometimes the major system doesn't boot and only the fans do?
__________________

__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: What's wrong?

if 4 LEDs are remaining lit i'd say your issues are narrowed down to power, cpu or motherboard. make sure you have the extra P4 power connector attached as those LanParty boards will react like that if it's disconnected. then i would reseat the cpu and remount the HSF.

edit: how long has this been happening? is it before or after getting back the RMAd memory.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default Re: What's wrong?

I got the memory checked in a diff comp and at the store they said it's fine.
This happend like 12hours-24 hours after the ram was installed. So it's either the CPU or the MoBo. I'm taking the whole comp in to get it fixed for free.

I'll be buying a new comp tomorow good deal at futureshop.
http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...0002506&catid=
ONLY 60$ for the monitor and mouse and keyboard...Worth like 200$+
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound has gone wrong Kevinator9 Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 01-05-2008 08:38 PM
Whats wrong? <[MaTT]> Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 12-23-2007 12:40 PM
XP using wrong hard drive Pericles Microsoft Windows and Software 14 08-21-2007 03:55 AM
Something wrong with my video card? sadisticmidget Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 07-19-2007 06:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.