Vista Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2009, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default Vista Graphics Card

OK, there is this application I wish to run on Vista. It runs fine when run normally, but I cannot save my progress. As a result, I have to go to properties and make sure that 'Run as Administrator' is ticked. However, when I do this, the program frequently crashes and I get a message saying 'driver nvdlklmn (something like that) stopped working and has recovered', I also get a direct 3D error. However, I can save. This has occurred in another application as well. I would be grateful if any help is offered. My display driver is an Nvidia GeForce 8300GS (pathetic, I know)

Wow, I feel stupid now, I put this in the wrong section. Forgive me for my ignorance.
__________________

Malpatta is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 03:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Vista Graphics Card

Are you sure you have the latest graphics drivers installed?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 02:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Graphics Card

Does the application you are running need to use DirectX 9? If so you will have to install the DX9 Runtimes. Since Vista uses DX10.

Also i would do what Yamikotai said and check for driver updates from the nvidia site.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 05:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Vista Graphics Card

Thanks for the advice, I installed DX 9, so far haven't seen any issues . And I always update my graphics driver.
Malpatta is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 01:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista Graphics Card

Glad you got it sorted.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
went from vista to xp, cant locate audio card drivers. TuNiX Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-13-2008 03:17 PM
Updating graphics card driver properly. Help! general.rule Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-25-2008 08:55 PM
Graphics card problems (?) TommyGun Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-28-2007 09:53 AM
If i get vista, should i get DX10 card? spartan1121 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-05-2007 05:35 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.