Unkown items in device manager making pc break - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2006, 08:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default Unkown items in device manager making pc break

Hello there,
all of a sudden the sound has stopped working on my packard bell easynote e3/e5 laptop.
I've tried system restores from many different restore points, but it keeps saying it cant do it. No reason.. it just, cant do it.
Ive checked the device manager and it has 2 yellow exclmation marks in the sound and video section, both of which are listed as Unkown items.
When i try to uninstall/reinstall the items, i get a message saying the items were not intended for my platform and it quits installation.

Ive now tried getting both the new ac97 patch, and the one i used when it worked last time, both of which havnt done anything.

Ive had a couple of messages about winmm wmd's and kernel audio splitters but still no resolve.

Ive gone to the packarad bell website and downloaded the new respective patches, including the realtek audio driver and the realtek wmd update but still no sound.

This is disgusting, Ive been trying to fix it for 3 days solid.

Is there an ymore info i can give?! Does anyone know what I can do?

Oh and when i try to play videos, obviously the video plays fine, but just without sound. When I try and open volume control i get an error message saying theres no mixing device on the system so i should go to add hardware, but of course everytime i do that, it either says theres nothing wrong and doesnt fix anything, or it says theres something wrong but it wont fix it. Brilliant.

I will love whoever can help me out of this sticky situation!! :P

bahferretboy is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K

Here are some audio drivers:


Wats the name or the specs of ur video controller?

P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068

if those dont work, may sound alil harsh, but go and get a external usb hdd and back up all ur stuff on it, and reinstall whatever os u got on it. if that dont help, then theres a problem within the "hardware" and its not "software" related. oh, u can also go to add new hardware wizard, that sometimes works. what os u usin?
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 05:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10

Thanks for the links.. although the first one was too complicated for me, and the one i was looking for on the second seems to be a dead link :P
video controller? Im not sure what you mean but the display adapter is a Via/S3G Unichrome pro IGP.
And in the video controllers section, I have Legacy Video Capture Device, Media Control Devices, and Video Codecs.

Do they help at all? None of them have any yellow exclmation marks though. The thing is, sometimes when i boot up the laptop, there are no exclamation marks in the sound and video controllers section, but other times, there are. But even when there arn't any yellow icons, the sound still doesnt work and I get the same problem and messages..

and as for formatting.. I am getting quite tempted.. I seem to be running low on memory these days anyway :P

Thanking you for the help people!!
bahferretboy is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 05:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793

is the audio turned up? i've ran into people who done this stupid mistake (no offence), also make sure it isnt muted

\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10

oh dear oh dear oh dear..

ok I just tried doing a complete format, since when has that not solved a problem??!
Anyway I still have the same problem. I've downloaded all the new drivers and still theres no sound. And when I try to open Volume Control it says there are no audio mixers installed.. but of course everytime I go to add new hardware it doesnt fix anything.

Any help on anything?? again?
bahferretboy is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 12:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13

oh .. you have done the fresh install... have you install the VIA chipset driver right after the windows installation done. ^^

this one >
hallo000 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 12:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10

Hello you :P
Ive had some trouble trying to figure out exactly what chipset i have, Via related.

And this link you give me seems to direct and.. focused
do you know something i dont know? Can one assume that this is the answer ive been looking for?? (is just checking befire he downloads)
bahferretboy is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 12:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
superdave1984's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980

Do you have all the latest windows updates?
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 01:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10

Hey man,
yeh I've got every update apart from a internet explorer one, but im on firefox, so that should be ok.
This is madness.
i dont know if something seriously wrong has happened, as Ive just opened my folder of old drivers that I used to have before everything went bananas, and even these dont seem to be fixing anything.

Ive tried a few via video drivers, but im still getting choppyness while windows boots up.. ah man

bahferretboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.