swapping a dvd-rw for a dvd-rom - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2008, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default swapping a dvd-rw for a dvd-rom

hi. i am relatively new to handling hardware on pc's. i have a dvd-rw that was used in an old computer that is now kaput. i wanted to install it in another computer that is good that currently has a cd-rw and a dvd-rom, 2 seperate drives.
i took out the dvd-rom (disk 0) and installed the DVD-rw and ran the firmware that i downloaded from the internet to update the drivers and what not.
however, the computer that i installed it on is only recognizing it as a dvd-ram, not a dvd-rw.
can anyone help me out with this problem?
it's a windows xp machine.
thanks.
__________________

mdspicer is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: swapping a dvd-rw for a dvd-rom

Hello,

So let me get this right. You took out a DVD Drive from a old PC to replace one in your current rig that has a CD Drive that you want to get rid of.

So you installed it. But it doesnt recognize it as a DVD Burner just a DVD RAM Drive.

Are you sure it is a burner?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: swapping a dvd-rw for a dvd-rom

i am sure it is a burner. i used it a lot on the old computer. it is a lg super-multi dvd drive. the type is a gsa-4167B, Rom version DLIJ

what happened was this. i had a computer that is no broken, the motherboard is fried. i took the dvd-rw out of it and put it in another computer.

the computer it is in now is not seeing it as a dvd-rw, just a dvd-ram.
mdspicer is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 06:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: swapping a dvd-rw for a dvd-rom

Hello,

You said you tried to update the firmware. Are you sure that it took and didnt cause this to happen?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: swapping a dvd-rw for a dvd-rom

If it says "DVD-ROM" in the "My Computer" menu, that doesn't mean it doesn't have burning capabilities. Try a DVD-writing application and check back with us.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Discussion Tyler1989 Microsoft Windows and Software 2568 05-04-2008 03:52 PM
Our Ventrilo Server Is Up And Running! mikesgroovin Off Topic Discussion 237 11-15-2007 09:46 PM
AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 123 11-12-2007 02:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.