Stuck on Verifying DMI Pool Data - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2006, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default Stuck on Verifying DMI Pool Data

Hi, I'm new to this forum and I thought I'd give it a shot.
I have a custom computer
AMD Athlon XP 2200+
2.70 ghz
512 ram
120 GB hard drive
Radeon 9800 Pro 256 MB
Windows XP Professional

I tried to reformat earlier because of all the spyware and viruses that only seemed to get worse. This is what I did:
I put the Windows XP Professional CD into the disk tray.
I clicked Install Windows XP
I clicked New Installation (advanced)
I then pressed enter at the blue screen after a bunch of files were installed.

then we got to the screen where it told me to select the partition, and I wasn't too sure on what to do so I exited.
I then tried to restart my computer and it is now stuck at Verifying DMI Pool along with 2 Boot from CD...
I tried boot with the Windows XP CD as first boot sequence, but it still didn't work.
I can't even get into safe mode.
The windows xp cd doesn't load.
Am I doing something wrong?
Anyways thanks for taking your time to read this, hopefully someone can post a solution, causing me not to have to purchase a new hard drive.
Thanks again
__________________

sz9182 is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

clear nvram and start again. you wont be able to get into safe mode because the installation has already begun. go ahead ffr, look it up online/google for printable instrucions.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 05:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Do you think you can send me a link on instructions? I've looked through many websites and all i found was alt+e or alt+f and none of those work. Thanks
sz9182 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

If you can get a windows 98 boot disk or better tet a windows xp boot disk set to load into your floppy drive that will get you over the hump. If you get to the partition part just choose the largest partition you have and format that one. That is if you dont mind losing everything on that drive.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 04:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You should always re-format when you install a new copy of an OS. Basically, all you did was replace the system files.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Yeah, I made a few errors.
But do you guys think theres anyway to fix this? if so can you post me a guide on how to fix it?
My intentions were to delete everything and reinstall windows because of all the spyware and viruses.
Thanks
sz9182 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 05:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

Well, check your bios to make sure your CD-ROM drive is the first device set to boot from.
Make sure you delete your partition and create a new one at that menu, it won't wreck your hardrive.. It will also format it, then install new windows files.
Should walk you through the installation ounce the partition is deleted and windows starts installing files.
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 03:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, a format wont help at all until you fix the DMI problem. Clear the NVRAM first, if that doesn't work try removing any non essential hardare (floppy disk, etc) and see if it gets passed that. If no joy, then flash the bios. After that then you can continue.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.