startup problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Default startup problems

hi, i powered off my pc yesterday, and now when i try to power it back on it doesnt respond as it should. THe power comes on, however it seems like the pc freezes. The moniter doesnt show anything, but the power light flashes on it. Also on the cd drive the light doesnt go off as it should over time. So basically it powers on but icant do anything with it. If anyone has any advice i would really appreciate it.
__________________

orangedrink is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 05:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Does it beep?
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Sounds like a MB problem. Check for blown Capacitors and what not, or anything that looks like in might have shorted out. (might have to look on the bottom of the MB) It sounds like a new one might be in your future...
bcw757 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Reset the CMOS! 9/10 it fixes the problem. unless its like my Gigabyte mobo that just decided to stick it to me.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

CMOS first, but when it turns on like that with no beeps or error message in any way that usally means the board is grounding out.

So try CMOS first then we try the grounding theory.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Default

yeah, it doesnt beep. So how do i reset the CMOS without being able to see anything on screen, or can you reset it manually.
orangedrink is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 09:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

turn it off, unplug the power supply or flip the switch on it... then go into the desktop and take out the little battery on the mobo... probably next to the ram
vertige is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Default

alright, ive resetted it and it still does the same thing. I also tried switching out the ram and the video card, so is it safe to say i need a new MB?
__________________

orangedrink is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.