screen problems with laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2007, 01:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default screen problems with laptop

Hey, I've got a small problem with my laptop screen... it appears to be pixelated somewhat and shows random characters on startup.

I have done a few things to narrow down what the problem could be, but at this time am not sure... I hooked my laptop up to a regular computer monitor, and the problem displays on it as well, so I know it's not the LCD itself. I have also turned down the hardware acceleration in Windows, and the problem persists. I have no backlighting issues at the moment either.

here is a screenshot for reference:

Toshiba Tecra S1 (3 years old)
Windows XP Pro SP2

Thanks in advance!

celicurr is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:


What's wrong with the screenshot ? Looks fine to me.

As for the random characters at startup, when exactly do you see them? During POST (when the system initialises) or is it during or after the loading of the operating system?


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4

whoa! just noticed that myself!! I guess because I was viewing it on the bad computer... but my screen has lines through it in random places, which will go away and reappear when information changes in whatever area of the screen, say when the mouse cursor moves through it... the problem definitely happens when the computer is started up and when resuming from standby, etc...

I'm not sure if it happens during POST, because the computer by default doesn't show it, but I'll reboot and check it out
celicurr is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 08:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4

yep it definitely happens during POST
celicurr is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 08:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4

celicurr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.