Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2006, 08:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default Ram

ok guys, this is an easy questionn, but i need 1 stick of 256 RAM. Dont ask y I dont need more. I just need to know if there is a difference between unbuffed and i guess u would call the other kind buffed.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145025

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145307

would both of these work in a pc?
__________________

Eaglez is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

It's Buffered or Unbuffered.

Depends on what motherboard you have and what it supports. Notice that http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145025 is ECC, unbuffered RAM, while http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145307 is ECC, buffered RAM.


What motherboard do you have?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Yes I noticed that 1 was buffered and 1 was unbuffered. Ill have to ask the guy who Im talking to. anyway...which motherboards need different ones?
Eaglez is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Eaglez
Yes I noticed that 1 was buffered and 1 was unbuffered. Ill have to ask the guy who Im talking to. anyway...which motherboards need different ones?
...I meant as well as that, one is ECC and the other is non-ECC. This is also important.

It depends what motherboard you have in particular.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 04:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

where can u find which motherboard u have. I looked in device manager and I couldnt find it because it doesnt just say motherboard. plz answer
Eaglez is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 06:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Hello,

I would use Everest Home Edition, freeware to analyze different aspects of your systsem. You can see your mobo, chipset, bios edition, etc.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.