Problem installing audio driver - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2006, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default Problem installing audio driver

I just reinstalled win xp and reformatted and now i'm trying to install the driver for my sound device which is onboard but it just keeps on saying system not compatible with driver. I've installed this same driver several times before and it never gave any problems. I've tried everything i know but with no luck so if anyone has any idea as to what might be my problem a response would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
__________________

kevo969 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

What are your system specifications?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

winxp media center edition sp2
Intel(R) pentium(R) 4cpu 3.00GHz 1GB of ram
ATI radeon X300 SE 128MB hypermemory
sigmatel integrated audio
kevo969 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kevo969
winxp media center edition sp2
Intel(R) pentium(R) 4cpu 3.00GHz 1GB of ram
ATI radeon X300 SE 128MB hypermemory
sigmatel integrated audio
What motherboard do you have?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

seriously i don't even know what motherboard i have. where should i go to find out that info?
kevo969 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

CPU-Z http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php is capable of informing you what motherboard you have.

Alternatively, Everest Home Edition http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html is good for listing system specifications.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 07:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

this is what i saw when i opened cpuz:
Motherboard:

manufacturer: Dell inc.
Model: OWG261
Chipset: Intel-i945G/GZ Rev: A2
southbridge: Intel - 82801GB (lCH7)
sensor: SMSC - 7901



Bios:

Brand: Dell
Version: A05
Date:03/31/2006

Graphics interface:

Version: PCI express
Link width: x16 - Max supported: x16

I hope this is the info u wanted
kevo969 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 05:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thanks alot for your help but i found a solution to the problem.
it seems in device manager under system devices the pci bus was not installed . all i did was install it then tried installing the sound driver again and it worked perfect.
__________________

kevo969 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.