Printer Problem - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2006, 07:30 PM   #21 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I am pretty sure its just the port itself. I don't think you can permanently change the "Bidirectional Parallel Port". I think its just the build up of that parallel port.


Hope your day gets better


Edit: You can try to use an older machine that doesn't have the bidirectional parallel port, but other than that, I don't see a way to turn off the Bidirection from this port itself.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 07:44 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 104
Default

I didnt have this problem on the old computer,,,, it had a parallel port on it,, this new computer that we just got 3 weeks ago doesnt have the parallel port so that is where the adapter came into play and now we have the problem with the bidirectional. You know what I will do tomarrow is, check the old computer to see if the bidirectional is checked in it. We just put that one in a different office. and if I add it to the network I can see if I have the same problem printing to it, that should tell me if it is the adapter I would think?????????
__________________

__________________
System 1
AMD Atholon 64 processor 3400+
2.20 GHz: 1600 MHz FSB
512MB PC3200
200GB HD
Sony DVD +/- Burner
Media Center
Win xp Pro
19\" viewsonic monitor & 17\" Sharp LCD Monitor/Tv


System 2
Intel Pentium 4 3.06 533Bus speed
512 MB DDR2700
60GB
DVD+/- Burner
Win xp Home
flgirl is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 07:55 PM   #23 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

As far as I know the older machines don't have "Bidirectional Parallel Ports" They have standard "Parallels". I do think its the new machines port configuration ( BiPar to USB ) I am pretty sure this is the problem.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 08:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 104
Default

Well the old computer is only 2.5 yrs old so I will still check it out when I get into work.
Thank you again for all your help and time trying to figure this out.
__________________

__________________
System 1
AMD Atholon 64 processor 3400+
2.20 GHz: 1600 MHz FSB
512MB PC3200
200GB HD
Sony DVD +/- Burner
Media Center
Win xp Pro
19\" viewsonic monitor & 17\" Sharp LCD Monitor/Tv


System 2
Intel Pentium 4 3.06 533Bus speed
512 MB DDR2700
60GB
DVD+/- Burner
Win xp Home
flgirl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.