Power problems. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2010, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Power problems.

First of all, my specs.

AMD Sempron 140 Sargas (2.7GHz)
2GB DDR2 800mhz
Nvidia GeForce 9400GT
Logitech MX-518 USB
Windows Vista Ultimate
GIGABYTE GA-M68M-S2P
460W PSU 70% efficiency (322w actually work?)

My video card worked well for a week or two when the powers monitor kept randomly shutting off during gameplay after a week of use or so. Trying to figure out whether I should be worrying about cutting down power, getting a better PSU or that it's just a defective video card.

Also a little curious whether open ports take up power.
__________________

joujou is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Power problems.

What model PSU do you have? I'd blame it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 03:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Power problems.

Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Elite 460 RS-460-PSAR-J3 460W ATX12V V2.31 Power Supply

That's the PSU I have.
joujou is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 07:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Power problems.

Is it just the monitor? or the whole computer?

Unless the psu is broke, its more than fine for the system.

As you said its happened when gaming, Have you checked the temperature of the video card?

Also, is your screen overheating? they too will shut off if they get too hot.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Power problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Is it just the monitor? or the whole computer?

Unless the psu is broke, its more than fine for the system.

As you said its happened when gaming, Have you checked the temperature of the video card?

Also, is your screen overheating? they too will shut off if they get too hot.
And I would check those things.. How?

And I remember it only being the monitor that powers off. I'd have to put the video card back in.. It didn't even look like the fan on the video card was running though, but I could be wrong.
joujou is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 12:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Power problems.

For the temperAtures of the computer, get hwmonitor from CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting

Usually if the gpu shuts off due to heat, the entire system locks too, or shuts off. If the fan wasn't spinning, then yha, the gpu most likely overheated and shut you down. 110C is the shut down temp for nvidia cards. ATI cards, i am unsure of.

€As for the monitor, you just have to feel it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 04:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Power problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
For the temperAtures of the computer, get hwmonitor from CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting

Usually if the gpu shuts off due to heat, the entire system locks too, or shuts off. If the fan wasn't spinning, then yha, the gpu most likely overheated and shut you down. 110C is the shut down temp for nvidia cards. ATI cards, i am unsure of.

ÄAs for the monitor, you just have to feel it.
So.. I'd have to put the video card back in to check the temps with that program?

Since I don't know how long the computer would stay on if I put it in.
joujou is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 06:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Power problems.

Yha, you would have to do that. That program just sits and tells you your temps of the gpu and cpu.

So you've changed the gpu, and alls good? That sure seems to be a gpu issue.

If you do get a chance I'd swap the old card back in, and see if the fan is going, as if its broke, its a cheap fix... but thats if you want to keep the card.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 09:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Power problems.

Seems like such an obvious problem now...

Anyway, I checked and the fan wasn't even running when I hooked it up. I checked the temp and it was 85C and still rising.

Is it possible to just take that fan off and put another on, or what is this "cheap fix" of yours?

There's also a plugin thing right on the card.. FIgured a cord from the PSU from there would plug in?

http://i50.tinypic.com/565g6.jpg

That's the plugin I was talking about.. If it's even a plugin at all.
joujou is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 09:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Power problems.

Is that an 8400 or 8500?

Basically, yes you can pop of that fan and put an aftermarket one on, or put a small case fan on it, Macgyver style.

The pics gto small for me to see the "plug" so i can't tell you what it is... but tell me the card I can find out.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maxtor external HD problems NO Power? New Case or enclosure? purveyor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-25-2009 07:58 PM
Bought a new power supply, and now problems. Help please! JackAnimated Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 12-22-2008 01:38 PM
strange power problem: no boot, LED flicker, angry floppy drive AskMeAboutRNA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2008 08:36 PM
Power Surge - Start up problems HoB10 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-12-2008 06:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.