Power Failure? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2006, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to ImmoRtaL-TechNQ
Exclamation Power Failure?

I had just finished installing windows XP professional. My hard drive was just laying inside the case connected. I was in a hurry and moved my hdd to a slot. It bumped something and the power shut off. I thought the power supply ATX might have been disconnected so i pushed it in. The power came back on then off. THen i pushed on a random spot on the mobo it turned on. Then it stopped turning on and off if i pushed the mobo. I tried to reboot my computerr with the powr switch and nothing happned. I removed the PSU connectors and replugged them in. No power was getting any where. No fans, no noises, nothing. I removed every thing from the case and reinstalled it correctly and still no **** power. Tried switching circuits, cords, the whole schmere. The PSU makes a TINY noise you can only here if your ear is next to it. EVerything is plugged in correctly and nothing gets power.

DId i fry my setup? IS it a PSU problem? PLZ help i just built it and this sucks it doesnt work!

My Set:

Gigabyte titan series
Radeon 9250
Intell P4 3.00 MHZ or GHZ just the normal not extraordinary
1 stick 512 kingston ram DDR 400

Help plz
__________________

ImmoRtaL-TechNQ is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

The issue is carefully investigating the system to see if you can locate what you bumped. take the hard drive out, with the power off and retrace the possible trajectory of the hard drive as you moved it. If you broke or bent a capacitor on the Mobo then a replacement is in order.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to ImmoRtaL-TechNQ
Default

K ty ill try that
ImmoRtaL-TechNQ is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 08:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to ImmoRtaL-TechNQ
Default

any other suggestions??
ImmoRtaL-TechNQ is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 01:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to ImmoRtaL-TechNQ
Default

anyone?
ImmoRtaL-TechNQ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.