Old harddrive, new system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2005, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default Old harddrive, new system

I took the harddrive from my dad's computer and put it into my old box. My old system is a Intel P4 on an Intel board. It has 1 gig of ram and a new power supply. In the bios, the board sees the harddrive and everything else.
However, windows Xp will not load in any mode. A window comes up says that a hardware change is resposible.
Without reformatting, how do I bring Windows XP back online?
Thank you for any help.

Platinum Dragoon.
__________________

PlatinumDragoon is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 08:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Does the old disc that you put in have windows on it(I mean was it as the Operating system disc on your dads computer)?
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 11:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Yes, the old harddrive has windows xp on it. It worked great on his old slow system. I just added an Intel board, 2 ghz P4, and a gig of ram. I don't think its a HCL issue.
PlatinumDragoon is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Boot off of XP disc, goto install windows, when it detects an OS already on disc, select repair.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 10:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Tried that. Now, it asked me for an administater's password. I have never installed a password on either system and I built both from the ground up.

Is there a default password on XP discs, or is this somehow on the harddrive?
PlatinumDragoon is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default

There shouldn't be a password.
computer_test_2 is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 09:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I know
__________________

PlatinumDragoon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.