not sure what is wrong exactly... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2006, 07:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default not sure what is wrong exactly...

ok i'v had this problem for awhile now, my computer will freeze up during gameplay after playing for awhile. i have replaced video cards, i have run diagnostics on ram, i have fiddled with the refresh rate, it's been awhile since i tried fixing it so i dont quit remember weverthing i have tried, but i have looked all over anyone who has had the same problem has fixed it doing things i have already tried. if anyone can help me or even give me a your own guess at whats wrong i can probably work with it.

amd processor
512mb ati video card (replaced a 128mb did'nt fix problem)
1gig of ram
200gig HD (i have recently wiped computer HD so it cant be internal unless i am missing somehting i didnt have befor either)

one more thing; my computer only started doing this after about a year of gaming and it only hapens when i play video card intensive programs (games) thanks ahead of time and sorry this was so long.
__________________

xenodro is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Maybe it's overheating. Check your temps during a game and see how hot everything is getting.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 12:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Thans what I think also. Gat a can of air and blow out the Heatsync. and all the fans in your system.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 12:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

no i'v ruled that out. my temp is at about 35c resting and does not go over 45 when i game, but that is the only time it happens. the comp does'nt shut off either, it just freezes. if the computer was overheating would it not shut off to prevent damage to processor or motherboard?
xenodro is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 12:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

i took apart my computer and wiped it out also, theres not any dust in heatsink.
xenodro is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

How is your processor doing? And maybe you should update your drivers.

It sounds like an issue either with your drivers, or your processor.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 11:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

my drivers are updated but im not sure about my processor. how can i tell if its crapping out?
xenodro is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 07:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

only things i can think of is:

-check video card temps during game play

- take one stick of RAM out, then play a game, if it still happens do it with the other.......if the same thing happens put them both back in and be happy thats not your problem

-Also whats your PSU wattage rating
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 03:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

i have a 450 watt box and i checked my temps every once in awhile while gaming and after the freezes.
never went over 45c (avg 39c-42c)
as for my ram... hmm i only have a single stick of 1gig. but i have some others laying around. i'll try playing for a bit with a different stick.
xenodro is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 02:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

ok i got a new processor because my old one just crapped out. but that wasnt the problem. i found a forum that seems to explain my problem pretty well. if anyone has the time to brouse over to it and see what they think http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...?t=31858&pp=15
__________________

xenodro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.