not booting up after I installed new harddrive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2006, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Default not booting up after I installed new harddrive

About 2 months ago I opened up the case of my comp and cleaned all the dust out. WHen I go to turn it back on it doesn't turn on. I kept trying it and like an hour later it worked. It has been working fine until today when I installed a new Hard Drive. I am 97% positive I didn't fry anything. I am thinking it is something in the PSU but I don't know.Anyone know how to fix this so it doesn't happen everytime I do something to my computer?

hinker is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to ChrisX

not too sure but to me it sounds like ur psu might not be strong enough/good enough anymore. or you maybe have made a wire or power connection loose when cleaning the dust out. all i can think of.

Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black
Radeon HD 5770
4GB DDR3 1600
1 WD 230GB, 2 WD Cavier 80GB
ChrisX is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27

It worked great until it got done formating the new drive. It is a 450W PSU.
hinker is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

try the new hdd on it's own. see if you can find another psu to test and also see if you can test the new hdd in another computer just so you can find out if that causes grief as well. is the drive IDE or SATA. i don't know about SATA but death throes of IDE drives can cause havock in a computer. its possible one of those drives is dying.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 12:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27

I got it up to format it again. It isn't the PSU or the old hdd I had. It is an IDE one. I will update when it is done formatting.
hinker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.