NON preset mode - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2011, 11:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default NON preset mode

hi guys, recently upgraded my pc to a nice kit (using an asus 6950HD). When i first installed the drivers the card was wroking great with a hdmi cable with full 1900 x 1080 res. however, for some reason i turned it on today and my screen (Benq E900HD) came up with the screen setting, HDMI, followed by nonpreset mode.

so now when i have it on 1900 x 1080 there is a black border around my screen, i have made sure all my drivers are up to date and cannot find a solution anywhere online. any help?
__________________

julz091 is offline  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: NON preset mode

There should be an option in Catylist that allows you to span the screen.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: NON preset mode

thanks heaps! ahhh so much better than that silly ol 1280 x 768.

greatly appreciated
julz091 is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: NON preset mode

It should be noted that the video data-stream via HDMI is exactly the same as the data-stream in DVI connections. There are two main differences with HDMI. Coming out of the Home Theater (HT) world, HDMI also supports full 5.1 surround sound and HDMI supports control signals so, for example, a HT receiver knows how to switch from BluRay to Tivo or cable box when one or the other is selected.

Most computers systems do not use audio through HDMI and none need the control signals (unless this is a HTPC). Unfortunately, the migration from the HT world to the PC world has not be perfectly smooth, and it seems some monitors and graphics cards have inconsistent difficulties communicating (handshaking) via HDMI.

So, if you continue to have problems and your card and monitor support DVI, I might suggest you try a DVI cable instead and see what happens.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 11:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: NON preset mode

I thought all cards that came out with HDMI could do video as well as sound. Might not be 5.1, but still produces sound. If HDMI is the same data-string, then why should it make a difference what you use?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: NON preset mode

Quote:
I thought all cards that came out with HDMI could do video as well as sound.
They all do video, of course. But sound is another matter. Many do have "integrated" sound capability, but if you look at the ports on the back of most graphics cards, they don't have audio "jacks" or ports for audio inputs or outputs (line in, line out, mic in, headphone out, front speaker out, rear speaker out, surround speaker out) to run out to your speakers, microphone or headphones, as a sound card does, or as motherboard integrated sound has. Right?

So the only way to get sound in that case with HDMI is if your monitor has integrated speakers - which most don't. Or, if your monitor has audio pass-through support to run your regular computer speakers - which most don't.

And let's face it, the speakers that do come integrated into monitors are not what you would call "high fidelity"! They are not surround sound, and they don't produce thundering bass as from a powered sub-woofer. Most computer users have separate, self-powered computer speakers that don't accept HDMI or DVI inputs. They accept direct connections from the sound card or integrated motherboard sound.

As I noted before, HDMI came out of the home theater world. They are migrating to the computing world for a couple reasons - mostly, of course, money. Since more and more PCs are being integrated into home theaters, folks needed a way to get video to the their TVs or A/V receivers which used HDMI. It cost more money to put HDMI and DVI connectors on TVs and receivers and since the digital quality and signal is exactly the same, why have both?

Also, DVI connectors are huge, compared to HDMI. So space is a concern, especially on graphics cards.

Remember, the folks who make big screen TVs are the same folks, for the most part, who make computer monitors. So if Samsung, Sony and Vizio never have to buy, stock, inventory and design around DVI, they save money. Now whether they pass those saving on to us consumers, that's another issue. But the point is, it is Samsung, Sony, Vizio who are driving the HDMI push, not AMD/ATI or NVIDIA (or Sound Blaster either).
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 03:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: NON preset mode

Ah, that explains it. Thanks, Digerati.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: NON preset mode

You're welcome.
__________________

__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DC Mode CPU-Z WarrenX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-10-2008 06:24 PM
is the PCMCIA driver kernel mode or user mode rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-11-2006 05:04 PM
Boot mode/regular mode problem... Think it's related to spyware. X2Xtreme360 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 12-29-2005 02:11 PM
Safe mode issue or dangerous problem with safe mode WTF now ? -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-28-2005 07:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.