Newly built system won't power up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2007, 05:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default Newly built system won't power up

Hello, and thanks for helping me out! I just "finished" building a computer, my first one thus far, and I've run into quite a problem. It won't start! Nothing at all, no noises, fans, beeps, nothing. The only two things that are telling me it is working is that I get a blue light on my case when it's all hooked up, and when I flip the PSU switch to on, you can tell the lights just barely flicker. But nothing happens after that. I made sure to check my PSU by shorting pins... whatever they were, and the PSU's fan powered on and seemed to work perfectly. But when it's in the actual system, no dice. So, ruling out the possibility of DOA parts for my sanity's sake, any help please? Much thanks!!
__________________

Sagasaki is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 05:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Newly built system won't power up

Update: I was able to hook up everything BUT my mobo to the PSU and do the pin shorting trick. It caused all my fans and the hard drive/cd drive to power up while it was shorted. So... is it possible that my mobo is dead even though it gives off the case power LED? I'm sure I could return it, I'd just rather not if there is any possibility it's not dead. But if it can be dead with that light on, then I'll look into it right away.
__________________

Sagasaki is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 122
Default Re: Newly built system won't power up

what you might try is, starting it with nothing but the motherboard, and cpu/ case fans plugged in, leave everything else out. all expansion cards, hdd, cd/dvd, drives, see if it will even post. by the way. it could still be a PSU problem, if it's not giving enough power to all components. so don't rule that out just yet. good luck!
__________________
Pentium D Dual core 2.8 GHz
Thermaltake Big Typhoon (CPU Cooler)
Radeon X 300 Series
Kingston 2 GB RAM
2 Seagate 160 GB HDD 7200
Thermaltake 500 Watt PSU
Sony 17" LCD Monitor
Thermaltake "Tsunami Dream" case
Sony DVD ROM
Pioneer DVD RW
Wverb0783 is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Newly built system won't power up

standoffs??
Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
If there is folty power suplay?and system craches. Polis Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-18-2007 05:59 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.