new hdd...xp doesnt detect - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2006, 01:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default new hdd...xp doesnt detect

i just got my new hdd.. maxtor 250GB... i connected it as a slave, set the jumpers.... i can see the disk in BIOS, in my device manager...but i cant access it..i cant see it in My Computer?
__________________

ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Does it have an exclamation mark next to it?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 01:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default

where? in bios - nope. device manager - nope
ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 01:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to ibexpiotr
Default

go it..
ibexpiotr is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 09:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

hi ibexpiotr !! the problem is that your hard drive does not have a partition created yet. all new hard drives need to create a partition in the unpartitioned space, in order this space will be usable. you can easily boot in dos (with a bootable floppy or cd-rom) and use the fdisk utility to create the partition. to avoid trubles, unplug your primary hard disk the time you gonna create the partition, because you are not 100% sure which one of the two hard disk you work on. when you create the partition, plug it back as it was. if you want advanced stuff, learn to use the norton ghost utility. you can save images of a whole hard disk. what i did ? i created an image which is empty, with a fat32 partition created in only. the size of it is some kb, and the ghosting lasts 2 seconds. and the best of all? works just fine. have a good work!!! reply again if you face problems.
djb is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 09:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

something i remember just now... !!
if you created ntfs partition on your secondary drive, and your primary drive is fat32, your operating system will not be able to recognize it also. fat32 is more flexible.
__________________

djb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.