Network Card Problem And Floppy Drive Prob. Need Help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 02:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default Network Card Problem And Floppy Drive Prob. Need Help!!!

Dear People,

I installed Windows Media Center Edition on my pc, my motherboard has two network cards, MSI Gigalan, one is a NVIDIA Networking Controller and one is a Realtek. After two days of installing windows, my computer forgot it ever had a floppy drive and the Nvidia netwroking controller also does not appear as a network adapter anymore.

My my pc specs are here:
- MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum NVIDIA Nforce 3 ultra
- AMD Athlon 64 3500+
- 1GB OF RAM
- 120 SEAGATE BARRACUDA
- 80GB WESTERN DIGITAL CAVIAR
- MSI GEFORCE FX5700 256MB

Please help me, I need to have a solution for this problem.
__________________

vishalds is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

do you both onboard NIC and a PCI card? if you do, I suggest using the onboard and pulling the PCI NIC out. Disable the one not used in the network. and right click on my computer/ properties. go to hardware and reinstall the drivers for your floppy.

This sounds like a driver conflict... no big deal, just have to do some steps to resolve them.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is online now  
Old 08-27-2006, 11:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

They are both two NICs integrated in the motherboard, my windows has forgotten that it has two, it only shows one. Before it showed two!

I am downloading the drivers from MSI website to see what happens next!
Thanks anyways!
vishalds is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.