Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 03:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO!

Sorry for the second post... the first one didn't show

HI! I'm new to the forum. I'm going to try and keep this short and simple cause my computer keeps crashing and I get a physical memory dump since my problem started. I appreciate any help. I'm using a usb wireless network card thing. It's crap. but anyways.

I was downloading portable games. I downloaded a few and tried to get them to my memory card, and my computer went nuts! It locked up and rebooted it's self, upon the reboot, I get an error saying that my network cable is unplugged. Which it's not. I tried replacing the CAT5 wire, didn't work, I tried switching the ports, didn't work. Then my computer just started restarting it's self over and over. I managed to backup my hard drive and re-installed XP home. I still get the crash problem and it still says my network cable is unplugged. checking my hardware, it says that I'm missing the drivers for the PCI simple communications controller, and my multimedia audio controller (yes, I have no sound now either)

This is crazy cause my Kaspersky never caught a virus, neither did my Verizon internet security.

I have an Elitegroup ECS P4VXASD2+ with a 2.40 GHz pentium 4 processor.

Any help on getting the drivers for this to work? I've tried looking them up, and the same as everyone else, I get sent to the Microsoft update. But no updates for the drivers.

Thanks for any help!
__________________

Synth3t1k is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 03:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth3t1k
But no updates for the drivers.
Press the Windows key+Pause/break to open the System properties. Go to Hardware, device manager. Are there any devices categorised by yellow question marks?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO!

yeah, I said it was The PCI simple communications controller, and my multimedia aduido controller. Those are the only 2 with yellow question marks.
Synth3t1k is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO!

And have you tried downloading and installing the drivers again?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

That's the thing, I can't find the drivers anywhere to match my motherboard. Not even on the elitegroup website. :-\

Oh and to the Mods, Sorry for the breakage of the rules. Won't happen again...

Well, I don't know how I did it, but I got my internet connection back through the wire. Now I've encountered a new obsticle. It won't let me connect to the internet. When it automatically asigns an IP address, it gives me a huge address, far from my normal IP address, and my subnet mask is 255.255.0.0 instead of 255.255.255.0.

So trying to get around this, I set up a static IP address with my normal IP address, SNM, and DNS. It still won't reconize it through my router and I still can not connect.... wow I feel helpless...
Synth3t1k is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO!

Odd, are you sure DHCP on the router is enabled? Is the router showing a connection to the computer? Try going back to getting the IP automatically, and give us the address it is getting from the DHCP.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 12:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO!

ok, this is what I did. I had switched my connectivity to "10BaseT Full Duplex"... If I put it back to "Auto-Negotiation" my computer goes back to "Network cable is unplugged"

on the connection it's giving me, its:

IP address: 169.254.33.234
SNM: 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway:???

it should be:
IP address: 192.168.1.3
SNM: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway:192.168.1.1

I wouldn't know how to check to see if the DHCP is enabled on the router. Is it possible that it could automatically disable it's self, cause this computer use to work with it. Now it doesn't...
Synth3t1k is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 12:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO!

Have you tried replacing the network adapter or re installing the drivers for it?
knightryderelite is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 12:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO!

I can't replace the network adapter, it's integrated with the motherboard. I just checked the DCHP settings, it is enabled, plus I have 3 other computers running off the same router. I have tried updating and re installing the drivers for the network adapter. still didn't work Computer is fail
Synth3t1k is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 08:20 AM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Network Cable Is Unplugged... BOOO!

You found the drivers here? ECS Web Site
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Network Cable Unplugged? leonardmp92 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 10-16-2008 06:05 PM
A patch cable with 2 switched wires is the only way a connection can be made... ?? Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-12-2008 05:28 PM
"A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue BeratE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 08-24-2007 06:19 PM
Network Cable Unplugged.. Link2181 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 07-26-2007 04:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.