Need some help about my hdd drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2007, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Need some help about my hdd drives

Currently I have my main 80gig IDE hdd connected with all my current data and os on it, and the jumper is set to master. When I connect my old SATA 250gig seagate, my computer runs incredibly slow and almost freezes.

I just want to transfer some of the data that I want, like music and stuff to my IDE hdd. When I go into bios it says its recognized and everything but I just don't know what is goin on. Anyone know why it slows my computer and sometimes freezes it? I'm thinkin the seagate is shot. Or unless I have to change something in bios.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need some help about my hdd drives

Would the HD require some sort of driver?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Need some help about my hdd drives

I don't think I have the drive cd for the hard drive though. I never thought about checking for drivers for it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Need some help about my hdd drives

I'm sure HDD's doesn't require any sort of drivers to start the transferring process. How about you try changing the jumpers of the old 250GB, get some CD's and send all the music and such to the CD and write it as a Data disc? Have you tried connecting the old 250GB HDD to your computer without the 80GB HDD?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default Re: Need some help about my hdd drives

In your Bios there is an option for your SATA drives to run in enhanced or Compatible mode. Should be enhanced by default, try changing it to compatible.

Also look on your SATA drive, if there's a jumper on it, completely remove it. If there isn't a jumper on it, put one on the pins that Restrict data transfer to 1.5gbps

Best suggestions I can think of.
__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 07:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Need some help about my hdd drives

I think once you plug in your SATA or IDE HDD, it'll enable the option right away.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Need some help about my hdd drives

Ya there isn't a jumper in the 250 so its getting the full 3.0 gbs out. Before I can write my music on cd's, my computer gets so slow and laggy that it locks up before I can start to. So I'll change the SATA to that compatible mode in bios, I just don't have it hooked up right now though.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE Hard Drives objecterror Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 07-14-2007 01:22 AM
When will 10,000 rpm hard drives be standard? macdawg Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-28-2007 03:22 PM
Two 500Gb Hard Drives Denise_M Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-16-2007 03:09 PM
DVD reader and writer drives not reading impact Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-14-2007 08:33 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.