Need serious help with Burner! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2006, 12:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default Need serious help with Burner!

i have been having problem with my burner for months now and i need some help plz

when I try to burn a cd or dvd using nero mostly, i would get the "focus or track error" and the burning failed messages. It seemed like if i try slower burning speed, it would process more % but eventually give me the error messages at some point.
Is it the burner problem? I have switched the burner once and it still gives the same problem. So i was quite confused.
Or is it something wrong with the software? is it because i have other programs running in the background?

Someone please help... i am not sure what to do... not sure if getting a new burner would fix the problem at all

thanks
__________________

__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 02:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Ok if you've tried a new burner and youre getting the exact same problem, i would either say your computer is struggling with the burn if you have lots of programs open in the background, or perhaps your IDE cable is faulty. Are you using a 40 pin or 80 pin IDE cable? (80pin would be beneficial).

Another thing you can try: See if you get any errors when burning cd's with windows xp's built in feature.
__________________

imation is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 02:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
STATus h2O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O
Default

Try un-checking the "Burn on the fly" options.
__________________
<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 02:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

What kind of media are you using?
dcc is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

Sorry to sound stupid... but where is the burn on the fly option?
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

I never knew there is a Win XP build in burning software? How can i use that? thx
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 06:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

right click on the files you wanna put on disk > sent to > then choose your cd. Put blank cd in and viola!
imation is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

I tried it.. still fail about half way through.. and it doesn't say way.. just say some error that caused it to fail.

i am starting to think its problem with IDE cable?
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 11:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

it wouldnt hurt to try a new IDE cable. Check the pins on secondary IDE channel, also check the ribbon for gashes or exposed wiring.
imation is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 12:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

If it was the cable your burner wouldn't even get started.

Try a different type of media, some machines don't like all types of media. Most machines that have that problem will work best with DVD-R, you also could have a quality issue, try a good brand like Ritek Redata, Verbatim, or Taiyo Yuden.
__________________

dcc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.