My Graphics aren't working properly, help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2011, 06:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Question My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

Hi,

Okay, I recently got an Alienware M15x and it's a great computer, love it, I have had no problems with it until now. Yesterday I went to play Civilization 5, now the computer had been running the game just fine all weekend, fantastically in fact, but yesterday the game had an unbelievably bad framerate, it was so slow it was unplayable, I restarted the computer but that made no difference, I updated the NVIDIA driver, no difference, I check the windows experience index and my 'Graphics' had gone from 6.9 to 2.8, which made me thing my graphics card was broken, but I did a system restore and then it was running fine and the windows experience index was back up to 6.9 for graphics, and it was running civilization perfectly again, but since I restarded my computer (turned it off yesterday, started it up again today) it is running all my games just as badly again, I checked the windows experience index again but so far that hasn't gone down to 2.8 again, I would prefer not to have to do another system restore, the only program I have installed since the first restore was maybe iTunes but I can't remember, my specs are below:

Processor: Intel(R) Core (TM) i5 CPU M520 @ 2.40GHz 2.40GHz

Memory (RAM): 3.00GB

Windows 7 64-Bit (Service Pack 1)

Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M @ 1.5GB

Please help ASAP.

Okay I just went back to the Windows experience index and it's done the exact same thing, it said New hardware detected, your score needs to be refreshed, so I ran the test again and the graphics has again gone back down to 2.8.
__________________

Stargate Fanboy is offline  
Old 07-26-2011, 08:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

Something to do with drivers, could be windows installing drivers for your GPU on it's own, or your drivers are crashing. What driver version are you using?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-26-2011, 10:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

Also check to see if any Windows Updates installed recently. Check your update history in Windows Update.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 07-27-2011, 01:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 2
Default Re: My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

Some alienware laptops have a dual video card system. An integrated POS for basic navigation, and a dedicated card, typically nvidia. Check your alienware settings and see if there is a sensitivity for when it uses the dedicated card. It is supposed to switch to it when it is under heavy load.

*NOTE*: This info comes from dealing with an mx11 alienware. I haven't specifically dealt with this problem, but i remember seeing the dual graphics feature.
carverd is offline  
Old 07-27-2011, 04:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

Can you provide a source for such a statement, as that idea seems... Stupid...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-27-2011, 09:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Can you provide a source for such a statement, as that idea seems... Stupid...
I've seen several laptops that have the switching graphics on them. Usually integrated Intel HD graphics, and then a dedicated nVidia GPU just like carverd said.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 07-27-2011, 11:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

That is honestly... Very new to me.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-27-2011, 11:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
That is honestly... Very new to me.
Lol it's meant to conserve battery when under low usage. I've seen some that auto-switch, and some that there's a manual switch for it.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 07-27-2011, 11:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

I have an auto one on my laptop, an ASUS UL80JT. Get with the times, Corrosive! :P
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-27-2011, 02:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: My Graphics aren't working properly, help!

I have switchable graphics on mine too. They're fairly common nowadays
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB aren't working properly tagmonkey Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 01-26-2007 07:26 PM
Graphics card not working properly zanee Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-02-2006 04:35 PM
Uhh is this PSU working properly? Ginkotsu System Upgrades 5 11-08-2005 06:52 AM
PC not working properly...i think Syn Off Topic Discussion 6 08-04-2004 05:22 PM
Ram not working properly Steve-o Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 05-13-2004 08:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.