Maxtor HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2005, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Unhappy Maxtor HDD

I think this is the place to post this, if not I'm sorry.

I got a new computer and I did not think to looking my Hard Drive more.

I'm getting a 200gb Maxtor HDD(with a 16mb cache)

Now I hear that they fail alot..... How often do they fail? Any one hear have one?
__________________

bob23 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yes maxtor are unreliable and do fail alot. However their's also a +, their 16mb cache maxiline's are fast.

Just remeber, data backup.

I also have a failed maxtor on my couch right now :S
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

really? Damn.....

If it does ever fail which HDD should I buy to replace it?
bob23 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bob23
really? Damn.....

If it does ever fail which HDD should I buy to replace it?
I would buy a seagate first, and if i couldn't get one of those i would buy a western digital
Erich K is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Western Digital and Seagate are the best drive manafactuers on the market. Get whatever size you need from either manafactuer.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

hmmm well I got it from IBuyPower, and they told me it would not even ship out till 2 or 3 days from now and I could of got a Western Digital 200 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Hard Drive for $0 more.....

Should I go with that if they let me change it?
bob23 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bob23
hmmm well I got it from IBuyPower, and they told me it would not even ship out till 2 or 3 days from now and I could of got a Western Digital 200 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Hard Drive for $0 more.....

Should I go with that if they let me change it?
I would
Erich K is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 02:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

ok, I'll give em a call tomorrow and hope they can change it....
bob23 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 09:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

sorry to double post but do you think they would let me change it so last minute?
bob23 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 09:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bob23
sorry to double post but do you think they would let me change it so last minute?
I would think if they haven’t shipped it out yet they would allow you to.
__________________

Erich K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.