Lockup on Re-install! HELP Please!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2009, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Unhappy Lockup on Re-install! HELP Please!!

System is...

AMD x64 +4800 Dual Core.
3 GB Pc3200 RAM
80GB HDD (samsung I think)
Gigabyte K8N-SLI


I've Installed Vista on this thing before but reverted back to XP since then. I got a nasty virus about 3 months ago and had to reformat. Ever since then, my reinstalls have taken forever!! Both vista AND XP. The XP one is really strange, because usually it takes about 30 minutes but now it seems to take well over an hour!!!!
Ive even flashed my BIOS just to be sure.

I am currently trying to put Vista back on, and it seems to be freezing up and the "Completing installation..." part after everything is installed.

Could this be a hardware issue? Please point me in the right direction, thanks.
__________________

eipeks is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Lockup on Re-install! HELP Please!!

Do you format the drive when doing the reinstalls? If so do you use the Vista drive format option? If so that could be the problem. That is only a quick format which is never suggested. It would be best to use GParted and format the drive fully and not with the quick format that Vista provides.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 05:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Default

Ok, Ill try Gparted first.

So while I was downloading Gparted, I had an idea from another post with the same problem.

In the other post, the guy had to remove his Firewire card before the install would work.

Since I didn't have a firewire card, I decided to remove my sound card.....

Creative Labs Audigy Z2. Guess what....the install completed.

I remembered I had gotten that card after I had already installed Vista the first time around.
eipeks is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 09:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Lockup on Re-install! HELP Please!!

Try a different PCI slot for the sound card. That means there is a IRQ conflict.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Linux on a USB drive with UNetbootin Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 12-16-2008 06:11 PM
PCI cards (Video card + Video Card) not being recognized after fresh install of XP GMEN316 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-05-2008 10:04 PM
slipstream SATA drivers to Win XP install CD jfenwick Microsoft Windows and Software 12 04-23-2008 09:58 PM
500gig externaal usb HD ziceman Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 01:24 AM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.