line input for mp3 player - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2009, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Question line input for mp3 player

Ok, my pc here at work will play sound just fine through the speakers. I plugged in a male to male so i could play my mp3 player through the computer so i would only have to have 1 set of speakers on my desk. The realtek driver acknowledges that there is "something" plugged into the line-in, but i get no sound and there is no slider bar for the volume on the line-in. Any ideas?

I have reinstalled the realtek driver, and my mp3 player works just fine playing through speakers. I'm confuzzled. It worked perfectly fine on my pc at my last job. I'll try it at home and see if i get the same issue.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: line input for mp3 player

User's Manual- REALTEK Sound Effect Manager Rev1.20

I see no one is knowing what to do here me included. So I found this link.It may help but not sure.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 12:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: line input for mp3 player

Assuming you've got windows running, you have to open up the sound controller. Few things to check there.
1. Make sure line in isn't muted.
2. Sometimes there's an extra option like 'back-front blue audio in' or something stupid like that. Make sure that's enabled and un-muted.
3. If that fails you can use the record port as a line-in port.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 09:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: line input for mp3 player

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Assuming you've got windows running, you have to open up the sound controller. Few things to check there.
1. Make sure line in isn't muted.
2. Sometimes there's an extra option like 'back-front blue audio in' or something stupid like that. Make sure that's enabled and un-muted.
3. If that fails you can use the record port as a line-in port.
I tried all of that. Its like the line-in isnt seeing the input. On the sound tab, there is no line-in slider either.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
FlashPlayer version? ThriceLabs Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-24-2008 12:24 PM
Crysis 1.2 patch dario03 PC Gaming 34 08-29-2008 02:42 AM
Java problem Trotter Programming 1 02-29-2008 10:24 PM
DVD Burner Issues theehussey Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-27-2007 01:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.